Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

One Month June 4, 2013

Filed under: motherhood,Natalie — Kemi @ 11:11 am
Tags: , ,

 

Natalie is one month old today.  (Yesterday, now, since I am posting after midnight.)

 

Image

(Oh, yeah!  I survived one month!)

I had grand plans for a blog post– with photo!– of her milestone day.  I thought I’d get her dressed up in a cute outfit and snap some adorable pictures of her, but it’s only been one month.

 

Do you know what one month looks like?

 

*One month looks like a month’s worth of laundry, both clean and dirty, waiting to be washed and/or put away.  They are slowly creeping together, making it hard to distinguish between the two.

*One month looks like a perpetual sink full of dirty dishes.

*One month looks like toys and books scattered from room to room (thank you, Sam!).

*One month looks like Zombie Mom and no sleep.

*One month looks like a disheveled ponytail, no makeup, unshaven legs, and mismatched clothes (when pajamas won’t do).

*One month looks like a plain white onesie and some cell phone shots on Mom’s bed, rather than a picture in a cute outfit and the “real” camera.

Image

 

One month is hard.  One month is so, SO hard.

 

One month is worth it, though.  One month is this face, peeking out at me from the folds of her swaddling blankets.  It’s the rhythm of her sucking, and the way she reacts to hearing my voice.  It’s the time we have together in the middle of the night, when no one else is awake. It’s the secrets I whisper to her, and the tears I cry that only she hears.

Image

 

One month may not be perfect to anyone else, but it’s perfect for me.

 

3 Responses to “One Month”

  1. Wendi Says:

    Sounds like me, and I don’t have a one month old! :) Hang in there! You are an awesome mama and you have proof! I need to come visit.

  2. Kristi Says:

    Aww… You made me cry!!! Love you and her! Wish I had more free time to spend with you so I could at least help you out once in a while!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 145 other followers