Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Gordon B. Hinckley, 1910-2008 January 28, 2008

Filed under: Church,Mormon, LDS — Kemi @ 9:15 am
Tags: ,

president-h.jpg 

     The prophet and president of the LDS church passed away last evening, of complications due to age.

     I woke up this morning, turned on the news, and was greeted by this somber pronouncement.  And I cried.

     I cried because I knew this man.  I didn’t have a personal relationship with him, but I had met him on a few occasions, and he was undeniably special.  You could feel his presence from 20 feet away, because the hairs on your arm stood at attention and all the nerve endings in your body started to hum, as if your souls were recognizing a heavenly connection.  I loved watching him speak.  He was very direct and straightorward, but with a wit that skipped playfully between his words. 

     I knew him because he was my leader.  For as long as I can remember, he has always been a part of the First Presidency, either as a counselor or the Prophet.  He was ordained to lead the LDS church just a few weeks after my engagement.  His signature is on my marriage license.  His countless words of wisdom adorn the walls of my home, and several of his books are on my library shelves.  His example was one I strove to follow.

      President Hinckley was a man known worldwide.  He was able to touch the hearts of world politicians, religious leaders and media giants.   While the LDS church as an entity has been under countless attacks, that anger and hostility has never been directed at the man who led it.  His passing will be felt by many throughout the world.

     I am assured that he has been reunited with his dear wife, Marjorie Pay Hinckley, who preceeded him in death nearly four years ago.  Together they are waltzing through the heavens, strolling hand in hand and reveling in their celestial unity.

      I’d like to share some of his best-loved and oft-quoted counsel.  Perhaps you’ve heard it before.  (It’s been “immortalized” as the 6 Be’s.)  It is fitting for all people, of all walks of life:

               Be Humble

               Be True

               Be Prayerful

               Be Grateful

               Be Smart

               Be Clean

     “Stand for something, or you’ll fall for anything.”

     Farewell, President Hinckley.  Thank you for your dedicated service.  I miss you, and I love you.

 

8 Responses to “Gordon B. Hinckley, 1910-2008”

  1. jen38 Says:

    Thank you so much for this post. I love the 7 Be’s! I am glad you stopped by today and hope to hear from you again.

    Best,
    Jen

  2. (((HUGS)))) I saw an announcement about this on another blog and I immediately thought of you.

    Blessings to you.

  3. highhopes1 Says:

    Kemi, sorry to hear about your loss. It is always hard when someone we admire as a spiritual leader and life leader leaves us! {{hugs}}

  4. It is hard to believe that he is really gone! There will always be an empty place in our hearts that can never be filled. He was an amazing force for good in the church and in the world. You are welcome to Visit my blog to watch two nice video tributes.
    – Blessings

  5. daisygirl19 Says:

    Thank you, everyone. Your words give me comfort.

    I came across this quote earlier, and I posted it on another blog. I love it– it gives me such a sense of purpose.

    *****

    You were in the War in Heaven. One day when you are in the spirit world, you will be enthralled with those you are associated with. You will ask someone in which time period he lived and you might hear, “I was with Moses when he parted the Red Sea,” or “I helped build the pyramids,” or “I fought with Captain Moroni.” And as you are standing there in amazement, someone will turn to you and ask, “Which prophet time did you live in?”

    And when you say “Gordon B. Hinckley”, a hush will fall over every hall, every corridor in heaven, and all in attendance will bow at your presence. You were held back six thousand years because you were the most talented, most obedient, most courageous, and most righteous.

    – Boyd K. Packer

  6. pinkbeefs Says:

    Daisy, Gordon Hinckley was a man who stood head-and-shoulders above many. I am so sad for you / your family / your friends / the Mormon Church / Brigham Young University / America / the world to have lost such a great leader. We ALL know there aren’t many of this caliber anymore.

    Reviewing his life, and what he stood for, it is no surprise that the BYU grads are some of the most highly sought-after employees, for their awesome future-thinking, top-notch education, but even moreso for their integrity. Gordon Hinckley walked his talk and was an inspiration to people of all faiths to do the same.

    May we all aspire to have even a quarter of the fire in our bones that he had in his! May we all be better people for whatever his life meant to each of us who knew he was here among us for awhile. Please accept my deepest sympathy at this time, as the world as you knew it regroups. And, may God raise up another leader worthy to walk in his shoes.

  7. That’s a beautiful tribute that you’ve written, Kemi. Please accept my sympathy for your loss.

  8. cowgalutah Says:

    sorry this is not related, but…I have a special something for ya over at my place! Come and see it!


Leave a Reply

