Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Moms vs. Dads February 22, 2008

Filed under: dads,kids,motherhood — Kemi @ 6:34 pm
Tags: , , , ,

baby_blues.gif

     I don’t know if it’s bad blog etiquette to copy and paste stories from e-mail, but both of these came to me from two different sources today, and I thought they were too funny not to share. 

     I’ve been on the antibiotic for two full days now, so I hope to feel better soon and get back to my regularly scheduled, personal blogging within the next few days.  If this is a major blog faux pax, chalk it up to the narcotics.  *giggle*

The Mom Test 

     I was out walking with my 4 year old daughter.  She picked up something off the ground and started to put it in her mouth.  I took the item away from her and I asked her not to do that.  
     ‘Why?’ my daughter asked. 
     ‘Because it’s been on the ground, you don’t know where it’s been, it’s dirty, and probably has germs,’ I replied. 
     At this point, my daughter looked at me with total admiration and asked, ‘Momma, how do you know all this stuff. You are so smart.’
     I was thinking quickly, ‘All moms know this stuff.  It’s on the Mom Test.  You have to know it, or they don’t let you be a Mom.’ 
     We walked along in silence for 2 or 3 minutes, but she was evidently pondering this new information.  ‘Oh…I get it!’ she beamed, ‘So if you don’t pass the test you have to be the dad.’
     ‘Exactly,’ I replied back with a big smile on my face. 
***************
Okay, funny, right?  I thought it was cute.  If you think it’s mean and undeserved, just read below:
***************
     A Dad Thing To Do 
     One day my mother was out, and my dad was in charge of my brother, who is four years older, and me.  I was maybe 1 and a half years old and had just recovered from an accident in which my arm had been broken among other injuries.
     Someone had given me a little ‘tea set’ as a get-well gift and it was one of my favorite toys.  Daddy was in the living room engrossed in the evening news and my brother was playing nearby in the living room when I brought Daddy a little cup of ‘tea’, which was just water. After several cups of tea and lots of praise for such yummy tea, my Mom came home.
     My Dad made her wait in the living room to watch me bring him a cup of tea, because it was ‘just the cutest thing!!’
     My Mom waited, and sure enough, here I came down the hall with a cup of tea for Daddy.  She watched him drink it up, then said, ‘Did it ever occur to you that the only place that baby can reach to get water is the toilet??’
 

2 Responses to “Moms vs. Dads”

  1. gr8brainfarts Says:

    I love these! Baby Blues is one of the comics I just HAVE TO read every day!! LOL!

  2. highhopes1 Says:

    ROF the toilet! I bet though it was the best tea ever…..

    I remember the pancake incident, Daddy and dd were making pancakes and when I got them they were ‘gourmet’ and there was egg shell in them, chocolate chips, oaties and some various chunks of fruit. There was coffee on the side and it had grounds in it. Truth be told it was the best breakfast I ever had because they made it together.


Leave a Reply

