Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Have I Lost My Mind? March 13, 2008

Filed under: education,Kemi,politics — Kemi @ 10:01 pm
Tags: , ,

its_your_school.gif 

     I attended a School Community Council meeting tonight, where someone suggested I run one of the four vacant school board seats.  (You see, our district will be *officially* splitting in the 2009-2010 school year, but the board will be voted in June 15, and their responsibilities to govern the east half of the current district will start on July 15 of this year.)

     I actually considered it for a minute. 

     Even more surprising?  I can’t stop thinking about it.

     I was a teacher.  I think I could be a good advocate for educators.  I also have a parent’s concerns and point of view.  I am articulate, well-liked, and a good leader. 

     On the other hand, I was a teacher.  I know how often the school board meets, how time consuming it is, and what will be required of me to run for the elected position.  Plus, I have four kids (one of them a highly energetic toddler) and my husband works nights.

     I’m not sure this is my time.  I’m not sure I even want to do it.  So why can’t I get the idea out of my head?

 

5 Responses to “Have I Lost My Mind?”

  1. Mercedes Says:

    Bless you! Good Luck with your decision making process! Maybe you should make a list (lol) of pros and cons about this to help you out! You could also talk to other Board members to find out what exactly they are required to do!

    Toodles,
    Mere

  2. pppj Says:

    You want to do it. GO FOR IT. You will love it – I promise.

  3. momster Says:

    Why can’t you get it out of your head? Because you are passionate about a good education for the children. We’ve all seen how you care about them. Is it time for you to reach out and try to improve the education/lives of the children in your community?

  4. Goldie Says:

    Sometimes God has bigger plans for us than we would ever make for oursleves. Maybe that little nagging feeling is God dreaming BIG for you! Go for it!!!

  5. Hisham Says:

    it’s very nice of you to care for education, me my self developing a new community for schools in middle east. schoolsinme.com maybe you would like to check it and get some friends from the middle east!


Leave a Reply

