Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Seven Random things about me! March 18, 2008

Filed under: Kemi,meme,NaBloPoMo — Kemi @ 9:48 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

     About a month ago, I got tagged for a meme (didn’t know what it was then) by my blog buddy Cow Gal.  Now that I’ve figured it out (and also figured out how to edit web addresses…  go me!) I am going to complete the challenge and pass it on.  I know you’ve probably all been tagged to death, but this is a new thing for me, so pretend like I’m not a total idiot and play along, okay?  *grin*  And if memes aren’t your thing, well, then, that’s okay too.

  

Here are the rules:

*     Link back to me

*     Post theses rules on your meme post

*     Share seven random things about you…or as many as you like.

*     Tag seven other fun-loving blog friends that need something to write about!

*     And let them know…so they can do it

    

And the seven random people that I’ll be tagging are below:

   

     Okay, here goes:

  

1.  When I was in third grade I had a moderate case of Chicken Pox, which led to a disease called Bell’s Palsy.  I was one of the few children in the US known to have contracted it.  The left half of my face was completely paralyzed for almost six months.  My smile is still a little lop-sided, and when I get tired the muscles in my face droop.

  

2.  I prefer raw cake batter to the actual baked cake.  (Salmonella, anyone?)

  

3.  I am a very organized person, even though my house is in a constant state of chaos. 

  

4.  I have excellent handwriting, which is common, and I write very well on a chalk or white board, which is not.  It’s the teacher in me, I guess.

  

5.  I have played the piano for 28 years.  I started lessons when I was five, and continued until I left for college.  I won a piano scholarship in high school, and I was the Sterling Scholar in music.  (Is SS a Utah thing, or is it nationwide?)  Now I play for fun, and for my kids’ enjoyment.  Just recently I sat down to show off from my old lesson books, and I looked like a fool.  What I was playing in junior high was too difficult for me to sightread.  Ugh.

  

6.  I have a hard time eating my vegetables.  (Sssh, don’t tell my kids.)  Seriously, though, it’s hard to eat them without making that scrunched-nose face.  I love carrots and sweet potatoes, but the green ones get me.  I can choke down green beans and broccoli with a fair effort, but peasGAG!  If I could drink a case of V-8 and get the RDA that way, I would.

  

7.  Fall is my favorite season, mainly because it’s when school starts.  As a kid, and later as a teacher, I was enchanted by new school supplies, new books, new students and planning a new year.  You’d think January would have the same “new” effect, but no…  just September.  As a related note:  I could spend a fortune in an office-supply store.  My husband never lets me go in one unattended.  *blush*

 

17 Responses to “Seven Random things about me!”

  1. cowgalutah Says:

    really? Peas? one of my favorites. i used to sneek them from my folks food storage room and eat them right from the can. Gross…i know, but i love the cake batter too. Have you had the cold stone cake batter ice cream? It’s wonderful.

  2. Accountable Says:

    Thank you for not tagging me!! I’m nt sure I could come up with 7 more things. LOL!!

  3. Kemi Says:

    Accountable, I remember when I first started reading blogs, you’d been tagged six or seven times.

    Yeah, I was watching out for you. 😉

  4. Goldie Says:

    I will work on it soon…but I don’t know if I know 7 bloggers that haven’t already been tagged lol!

    Did you see what I wrote back to you on my blog after your 1st visit? (comment #10)
    http://lifeasaplatypus.wordpress.com/2008/03/17/to-bunny-or-not-to-bunny/#comments

    mamma…(oooh ooh ooh)

  5. gr8tful Says:

    Ok, so what do I do and how do I do it? Do I put it on my blog How do I link it to you? (sorry, just understanding some of thisstuff)??????

  6. Kemi Says:

    Truth be told, Win, I’m new to this whole thing too.

    I copied the URL of the original posting (from the person who tagged me), and then copied the rules and pasted them on my blog, along with my 7 things.

  7. […] Random Things About Me and a Six Word Memoir I’ve been tagged for memes by Kemi and Holly this week, and since they compliment each other nicely, I thought I’d just fold my […]

  8. firstsister Says:

    Hahaha! I did it. 🙂 I copied and pasted most of Kemi’s, and then edited. Is that cheating?

    Figuring out how to link was…fun. Haha

    I don’t know 7 other bloggers to send it to, but I did it anyway and invited anyone who reads it to join.

    Thank you Kemi, for thinking of me! I love your blog too and check it out every day.

    Paula

  9. kyounkin4 Says:

    I’m not a teacher, but I LOVED going back to school in the fall. So much so that I kept going, and Going, and GOING to school until the government refused to lend me any more money to pay for it. Crackling-new school supplies are like lottery winnings to me! And I hated when my crayon-tips wore down.

  10. gr8tful Says:

    i’LL TRY ASAP!!

  11. firstsister Says:

    You know, I was so happy that I managed to post the meme, I forgot to comment on yours! :-b

    My mom suffered a bout of Belle’s Palsey several years ago. It came out of nowhere and lasted a good while. It eventually went away and fortunately, she had no lasting effects.

    I have a sister-in-law whose been known to make a batch of brownies JUST so she can eat the raw batter!

    I LOVE peas! But, when I was little I hated them. I used to hide them in my mashed potatoes to get them down. I used to cry if we had peas with no mashed potatoes to hide them in. Hahaha

    This was fun. 🙂

  12. Goldie Says:

    I am gonna do it…I am, really…soon…

  13. Goldie Says:

    help! how do you link to someone in your post? i have it all done but THAT part!

  14. Kemi Says:

    Copy my URL and put it in your post. I think that’s all. *shrug*

  15. […] March 31, 2008 in Uncategorized Tags: Accountable, Anne’s Zoo, Curious and Missy the Cat, Fancy Dancer, Fighting Windmills, Kemi, meme, Mercedes, random, The cool Chicks Okay…  Like you guys don’t already know how random I really am.   Oh.  You don’t??  Scroll down and look at my previous blog posts.  That might give you a clue.  😉   I’m prepared to share more of my randomness with you.  No, not because I need to further prove how crazy or random I am to you but rather to play tag with Kemi.   […]

  16. Accountable Says:

    Kemi, you didn’t tag me, but one of your tagees tagged me!! LOL

  17. Kemi Says:

    I saw that. Sorry. 😀

    You try to do a girl a favor… (kidding)


Leave a Reply

