Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Kendra’s Baptism April 12, 2008

 

  

    Today was a special day for our family.  Kendra was baptized and confirmed a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

  

     When we got to the church this morning, she had to pick a jumpsuit to wear into the font, and wouldn’t you know?  My daughter found a dress.  I couldn’t talk her out of it.  (I started having flashbacks to my  baptism day, when all little girls wore dresses and the minute I hit the second step of the font, my dress caught an air bubble and I unknowingly kept walking down the stairs.  When I got to the bottom step (and 3 1/2 feet of water), as I made my way to my dad, with a whoosh,  my dress flipped up to my chest like a jellyfish propelling itself through the ocean.  Sooooo embarrassing.  I know I flashed a good share of the audience!)  She did look lovely in her dress, and since she was sharing her baptism day with two boys, it was only fitting that she looked like a princess.

Kenny and Kendra

(The glaring gold background is actually the pair of accordian doors that close off the baptismal font.)  

  

  

     There were some talks and some singing, and then it was time for the baptisims.  They went by alphabetical order, so the two little boys were first.  (In a strange quirk of fate, both little boys share the same first and last name.  Their older sisters also share the same name and same spelling, and are the same age.)  Then it was Kendra’s turn.  She walked into the font with no dress issues (whew!), was baptized by her dad, and was sent back up the stairs to get ready for her confirmation.

Kendra and the Masons

     

  

     Earlier this week, we went shopping for a fancy dress, complements of Grandpa.  We found a gorgeous dress (after trying several on, in various pastel shades), and the best part?  It was 80% off, marked down to $17.88.  When she put her dress on today, with her curly (damp) hair and headband, she was all poofy and princess-y.  As soon as she saw herself in the mirror, she shyly told me she looked like Giselle (from Enchanted) in her marshmallow dress.  It was a cute comment, and she looked beautiful.  And grown up.  It made me feel nostalgic for the baby girl I used to know, but excited for the young woman I see her turning into.

  

  

     As the men assembled to bless her with the gift of the Holy Ghost, my dad stood at the head of the circle.  It was a little surprising to see him there, because Kendra was planning on having her dad confirm her, too, but at the last minute they decided to ask my dad, which was a sweet gesture.  I guess it’s a tradition now, because he also confirmed Alex last year.  It was a very beautiful blessing, full of love and support (and lots of tears).  

     

     After we left the church, we made a quick stop at home to change our clothes, and then we took the family out for brunch.  We ate at a place called “Britton’s”, where the food was excellent and inexpensive (always a plus).  Eleven of us squeezed into a booth designed for six, and (in spite of that?  because of that?) we had a really fun family time.  Kendra opened a few gifts she had gotten (scriptures, a carrying case, scripture marking pens, journals, an activity book and a bracelet and necklace), and when she saw her name embossed on her scriptures, her jaw dropped and her eyes filled with tears.  It was very touching.  She is such a sweet girl! 

My Family

(front row, left to right:  Kristi, Abbie, Alex, Hannah, Kendra

back row, left to right:  Grandpa, Kelli, Kevin, Anthony, Kenny, Kemi, Grandma)

* notice how Hannah is holding Abbie’s hand, because she can’t go two seconds without touching her *

  

  

     It was such a nice day.  Peaceful.  Important.  Loving.  I’m proud of her for the choice she made to be baptized.  I hope it makes her as happy as it did me, 25 years ago.  Tomorrow, she will be presented (with the Masons) to the congregation as the newest member of our ward.  In her “marshmallow” dress that makes her feel like a princess. 

  

     Which is only fitting, as she is the daughter of a King.

 

3 Responses to “Kendra’s Baptism”

  1. Sky Says:

    Wow Kemi, what a beautiful story. I felt like I was there with you. Your daughter indeed looks like a princess. What a beautiful family also.

  2. High Hopes Says:

    Congratulations Kendra! Wow how exciting for you! You looked lovely in your dress. Kemi thank you for sharing this!

    Hugs to you!

  3. NightMistress Says:

    I love the marshmallow dress. It is perfect for a princess on her special day! Congratulations, Kendra. You are beaming in your pictures. 🙂


Leave a Reply

