Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Blah! April 16, 2008

     Today is one of those blah days. 

  

     It’s gray and overcast outside, which makes it the perfect day to snuggle up under a blanket and read a good book. 

  

     Except I have a two-year-old and my house is a mess, and both of those things make it very hard to relax. 

 

     While the latter is usually the fault of the former, today I have no one to blame but myself.  I  chose not to wash the dishes last night before bed, and I  left the three sorted piles of laundry on the floor, fully intending to wash them in a Mt.-Washmore-style frenzy.  (Before you start protesting that a sink full of dirty dishes and three loads of laundry are not really that big of a mess, let me reassure you that they are just a verrrry small percentage of the actual work I need to do to make my house presentable.)

  

     Because I know how much you’re dying to read about my blah day, I’m going to walk you through it.  Weep for me, readers.  This is my reality.  Every.  Stinking.  Day.

 

  • Woke up five minutes before alarm went off
  • Made breakfast (scrambled eggs, toast and fresh fruit)
  • Got two kids ready for school, checked homework, signed planners, said a family prayer and sent them out the door
  • Put one load of laundry in the washer, realized dryer was full of dry (wrinkled!) clothes
  • Hugged Hannah when she asked if today could be a pajama day  (Bless her!)
  • Changed at least two stinky diapers before 9:30 when Anthony went down for his morning nap
  • Let Hannah play on the computer
  • Answered a knock at the door with wild hair, unshowered and still in pajamas.  Of course it was a MK customer, asking about her order that hasn’t come in yet.  I should be fired for representing the company that way, but I have a hard time caring.  And a harder time putting on “the face” just because.  Lately I’m lucky to do eye shadow and mascara. 
  • Sat down on the couch next to Kenny;  promptly fell asleep
  • Had a very strange dream about hitting Billy Ray Cyrus with my car, which I realized had something to do with the “Amazing Videos” show my husband was watching on Spike TV and the Hannah Montana episode he accidentally started on DVR
  • Woke up at 11:30 AM in a panic when Kenny said he needed to leave for work in 15 minutes, and could I please check on the clothes in the dryer, make his lunch and get him a clean towel while he jumped in the shower?  (What is it about leaving things to the VERY.LAST.MINUTE with men?  Or is it just my  man?)
  • Helped with all of the above, kissed him goodbye, said a prayer
  • Fed my kids lunch
  • Caught up on my blog reading
  • Let Hannah and Anthony watch an episode of “Dora the Explorer”, “Hannah Montana” and “Wow, Wow Wubzy!”  (Not going to win any “Mother of the Year” awards today.  Don’t care.  Not today, anyway)
  • Put them down for naps
  • Microwaved Monday night’s leftover pizza (ick!) and mindlessly watched tv for a few minutes
  • Continued in vegetative state;  caught up on two episodes of “Say Yes to the Dress” that I DVR-ed at least six weeks ago.  Possibly longer.  Wished I had the body that would fit into any of those beautiful dresses.  *sigh*
  • Felt guilty about not doing more around the house;  brought up dry and wrinkled clothes to fold later.  Put wet clothes in dryer, put dirty clothes in washer
  • Watched more “Say Yes to the Dress”
  • Welcomed Alex and Kendra home from school;  folded Kenny’s half of the wrinkly whites
  • Lamented the fact that it is still overcast and gray, and the soonest I’ll be able to curl up with a book is 8:00, when the kids go to bed.
  • Blogged about it

  

     Why are some days so hard?  I just want to curl up and go back to bed.  I feel drained of energy and motive.  Thank goodness FlyLady creeps into my head and reminds me that I can do anything for 15 minutes.  Except, today was a 5-minute day, and I seem to have a lot of those.

 

     Sad.  Pathetic.

 

     BLAH.

 

2 Responses to “Blah!”

  1. Sky Says:

    aaawwwwww kemi, here is a big hug and kiss for you * I’ve had alot of 5 minute days lately…….must be something in the air……. Your hubby gave you 15 whole minutes!!! WOW! ha!ha!ha! Mine usually gives about 5…… men………….

  2. Goldie Says:

    The monontony and repetitiveness have really been getting to me lately too. If I had to unload the dishwasher one more time I WILL SCREAM. Now excuse me while I go unload the dishwasher…and scream.


Leave a Reply

