Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

It’s like ray-ee-ain on your wedding day… April 19, 2008

Filed under: family,Kemi,music,travel — Kemi @ 6:18 pm
Tags: , , , ,

     I committed my first vehicular homicide today. 

 

     It was purely accidental, and I’m sure I’ll have nightmares for the next few days about the sound of the body hitting my headlight, or the shuddery feel of the impact.  The worst part about it was, I was driving too fast to stop, and driving on the freeway off-ramp was no place to pull over and check on the victim.

 

     Poor little bird.

 

     Here is the ironic part (hence, the title)– we were on our way back from a day trip to the zoo.  All day with those animals, and what will I remember?  The little birdie*  who didn’t catch his up-draft fast enough and connected squarely with my front bumper.  Even more ironic?  We were blasting the Enchanted  soundtrack and singing along to “Happy Working Song”, the one with all the animal helpers. 

 

     Vehicular birdicide.  I feel sick. 

 

*Eyewitness reports are mixed– my parents, driving in the car behind me, saw the whole thing.  My sister wasted no time calling me on my cell phone to shout, “Crow Killer!”  and hang up.  (Soooo mature.)  My dad said it looked like a little rooster Quail.  Killing either species is horrifying, but we have dozens of Quail who live in our pine tree, so it feels more  like killing a family member.  Anyway, I was hopeful (and doubtful) that I had just grazed it and then it flitted off to be with its birdie friends, but no, Dad had to describe its ricochet and trajectory, and eventual resting spot.  (Eventual = bouncing across five lanes of freeway space.)  *cry*  *vomit*

 

5 Responses to “It’s like ray-ee-ain on your wedding day…”

  1. K. Trainor Says:

    I understand completely. Had a similar experience with one of the doves that hung around near the end of our block. I got out and checked ditches and yards–it was nowhere to be seen so I thought maybe, just maybe it was ok. whew!

    The next day I found it stuck up under the car grille. All I could think about was that doves mate for life. I was horrified.

    It happens, and you couldn’t avoid it. I just wanted to tell you someone else knows how you feel. 😥

  2. pppj Says:

    Kemi,

    I’m so sorry. I hate when that happens.

  3. High Hopes Says:

    Well I am a squirrel killer. Yup I killed one of the neighborhood squirrels. My daughter had a name for it, its name was Chippy, (every squirrel is named Chippy, because they all look alike). I was going to work, I tried to avoid it and it zigged when I zagged and then squash. I felt like I was going to be sick. I stopped and got out to see if hopefully I missed it, but didn’t. ICK. There was no squirrel resusication going on that day. Mouth to squirrel, don’t think so.

    I share your pain.

  4. NightMistress Says:

    Well, I can only give my regards to all of you.
    Signed,
    The Bunny Butcher
    (Bunnies bounce higher!)

  5. Erin Says:

    Don’t worry…the very first time I ever drove in driver’s ed when I was 15, I killed a squirrel. it was a horrifying thing.


Leave a Reply

