Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Spring May 9, 2008

     We’ve been experiencing a strange weather pattern here in Utah.  Last night I heard a meteorologist refer to it as a “Spring pattern”, as in, alternately rainy and sunny.  I don’t mind the heat, as long as it maxes out at 80 degrees (yes, I know I live in the DESERT.  Hush!), and I love the rain.  It’s been such a long time since we’ve had regular rain in the spring, I actually forgot that it’s normal.  In fact, the last time I remember having a rainy spring was in 1995, the year we got married.  (It rained almost every single day from the end of April through mid-June, and I remember thinking my wedding photos outside the temple would include an umbrella and galoshes.  Luckily, there was no rain on June 10 that year.  It was a wedding miracle!  ha ha)

 

     I’ve missed the rain.  I LIVE for thunderstorms.  I love the deep, grumbly, growling thunder that shakes the windowpanes and rumbles in your stomach.  My kids aren’t such fans of the noise, but they DO love lightning, as long as they are safe inside.  When they were really little, they used to call lightning “strips of bacon”.  It was a hilarious joke they shared between themselves (you know how silly pre-schoolers can be), and it will probably be something they laugh about when they’re in their 80s.  Maybe not in the shrieky, screaming, hysterical way they do now– one can hope, anyway– but with nostalgia and fondness for youth.

 

     Anyway, Wednesday was a really rainy day.  They walked home from school in the downpour (BAD mommy!  VERY good book!  BIG distraction!) and when I met them on the corner, apologizing profusely, they asked if they could watch for “strips of bacon” when we got home and they dried off.  (guilt, guilt, guilt!)  At that point I would have agreed to practically anything, and this was an easy request, so we pulled out the rocking chair, pulled aside the front curtains and set up their “strip”-watching station.

 

     Believe it or not, they stayed there for over an hour.  Just staring out the window, watching the rain fall and occasionally shouting their approval of nature’s light show.

 

2 Responses to “Spring”

  1. Rachel Says:

    AWESOME (not only the media-free entertainment) but the rain in general.

    I LOVE those kinds of storms!! They are so beautiful–

  2. lifeofdi Says:

    I used to love doing this. My mom, sister, and I sitting out on our front porch wrapped in denim quilts… Mmmm… Thanks for the good memories, Kemi!


Leave a Reply

