Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

PackRat May 25, 2008

Filed under: games,Kemi — Kemi @ 12:42 am
Tags: , , ,

     I found a new game on Facebook.  My friends have raved about it for months now, and I resisted the pull.  Don’t ask me why I suddenly felt the need to check it out, but last Sunday I did, and apparently I either have one of those addiction genes (good thing I don’t smoke or drink!), or PackRat is OF. THE. DEVIL.  I vote for the latter.

 

 

*sigh*

 

 

However, I DON’T need PackRat detox, thank you very much. I am perfectly in control.

 

 

Just because I completed 35 levels in one week doesn’t mean there’s a problem.

 

 

Just because my nine-year-old, who has never actually played the game, but merely observed, can tell you exactly how to play, how the bidding strategy works, and which cards are rare, doesn’t mean I have lost control.  (I’m talking detailed explanations, people.  It’s sad, really.)

 

 

Just because when I loaded the dishwasher tonight and still had half a sink full of dirty dishes that wouldn’t fit in this cycle, it doesn’t mean I am obsessed. Had I actually loaded the dishwasher once in the past three days, I coud have avoided that problem, but I had sets to vault things to do.

 

 

Just because I’ve had the worst carpal tunnel flare-up EVER doesn’t mean it’s related to me playing on the computer for hours and hours at a time.

 

 

And most importantly, just because I’m dreaming of gathering like items while I sleep, it doesn’t mean I have played too long during the day.

 

 

*sigh*   I am PATHETIC.  blink.gif   And I’m going right back to my game.  Maybe I can vault a couple of sets before I head to bed. 

 

11 Responses to “PackRat”

  1. K. Trainor Says:

    LOL! I am sooooo not going to check that game out. I got on a Zelda kick for the longest time… (theme song plays in her head)

  2. Gosh Kemi. That does sound like it has taken over your mind and body. Be careful! My nephew plays a computer game called “Mu” that takes over his entire thought process. It’s not much fun to be around him when he is in that haze. 😦

  3. lifeofdi Says:

    I have done that with tetris before. I knew I had to stop playing, when, in my mind, I began rearranging the lines breaks in books and newspapers to fit together better.

  4. ybtolerant Says:

    OH DEAR my fellow twilight fan (…. did you get my last email missy??) –

    this is why in my family we DO NOT OWN a WII – for we ALL would be hooked. We are not allowed to get hooked on ANY games because we would have a serious problem.

    Anyways to be quite honest I do I feel your addiction pain because I have a problem with blogging and reading books and music. It’s like my real life does not exist.

    My dad and mom suffer from the technology addictoin too. Their laptops and blackberry-s are their lives – I mean forget their daughter and two dogs – the technological aspect of life is just so much more important!! LOL

    Remember Kemi – you have …. a famliy …. you know that thing that screams when their hungry and the toilets broken and that need your love and affection???

    – Anyways – LOL – Amber

  5. Oh dear. You’ve started on Q of M… We’ll help you collect the maize. I try to finish up before the weekend. Some sets are easier than others (but you knew that). Whe you start stalking the markets, we’ll set up an intervention.

    ~R

  6. kspin Says:

    I am NOT going to check out that game. I already have way too many distractions, and I’m not talking about my children…unless you call blogs children… thenI have three. Of both! lol!

    Hope you had a great weekend!

  7. NightMistress Says:

    You have been absorbed, Ms. Kemi. You are ONE with the game. bwa ha ha ha ha ha

  8. Belem Says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Belem!

  9. Chris C Says:

    I can totally relate! I finally promised myself that I would stop playing it just so I could stop thinking about it.

    Unfortunately it’s not working. . . LOL

    At least my dishes are done and my kids are fed, but I think we’d all be better off if I never found that game!

  10. I’ve relaxed a bit on the game. I’m actually working somewhat now during work hours. LOL!! I’m at least three sets behind. hee hee!!

  11. but I DO have a jackpot for grinding!


Leave a Reply

