Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Today’s memories brought to you by a supermom… June 12, 2008

Filed under: kids,motherhood — Kemi @ 11:01 pm
Tags: , ,

…and she is my new blog buddy Kweenmama!

 

     I read about her idea a few days ago, and tonight I went to Target to pick out my notebooks.  I am a little disappointed, because I wanted them to be fancier, but I wasn’t willing to pay $10.99 for a spiral-bound notebook with a (tacky! ugly!) decorated cover.  Heck, I could have made that myself, but then it would have been an excuse to put it off.  (I have a tendency to get sidetracked…  easily.)  I ended up getting 97-cent composition books in four different colors.  I figure there’s time to “upgrade” later.  I also didn’t want to talk myself out of it based on perfectionism.  (I very nearly did because I am behind in starting the project, but then I decided that even though Alex will have 9 years and Anthony will have 16, it’s okay.  It doesn’t matter.  They will be thrilled with what I have, no matter what.  I hope.)

 

     So what am I talking about?  THIS:  a fantastic memory idea, especially for one who thinks she’d like to scrapbook, but hasn’t ever really gotten around to doing it, other than a few pages here and there.  I can totally do this, and I can’t wait to get started–  as soon as the home appraiser comes tomorrow.  (I’m sure you’ll hear more about that in tomorrow’s post.)

 

Kweenmama says:

One of the most rewarding activities I have done for my kids is to keep individual journals for each of them.  I have done it for years.  Because our days are rather hectic I don’t write in all four journals every day.  Instead, I rotate the journals and write in one each day, so there is a new entry written in each journal every fourth day.

The journals record the good times as well as the bad.  They are full of my expressions of love and pride in the people they are becoming.  There are a few mementos and pictures tucked inside as well.  The plan is to give the journals to the kids as they leave the nest.

 

     Thanks, Kweenmama.  I hope you don’t mind that I totally stole your idea, but it’s one that I can actually do and keep up with.  Here’s to tomorrow’s entry.  I’m sure there will be lots to write about, since Alex will be spending the day at Scout Camp.

 

     Happy memories, everyone!

 

 

4 Responses to “Today’s memories brought to you by a supermom…”

  1. K. Trainor Says:

    Isn’t that a wonderful idea? I read that post, too. Kweenmama ROCKS! 😀

  2. Mercedes Says:

    This is a great idea!

    *spritz*

  3. Rachel Says:

    AWESOME idea! Way to go–even if it’s .99 cents, your efforts will go far! 🙂

  4. kweenmama Says:

    Wow…I don’t know what to say (type) except…thanks!

    I can’t wait to tell Hub that someone in the blogosphere actually liked one of my ideas. Maybe I can milk it for a night out or something!


Leave a Reply

