Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Father’s Day June 15, 2008

     I had to speak in Sacrament Meeting today, which I was really looking forward to.  My subject was Fathers, naturally, and I spent hours preparing for it.  I was told to plan for at least 20 minutes, but after the Primary kids sang and two speakers went before me, I was left with just ten.  Half the time I was prepared for.  I had to cut out the whole middle of my talk, and I was very disappointed.  I felt like my words were disjointed and lacked connection.  I knew it wasn’t a really great message, and it made me feel bad because I knew I had prepared something so much better.  Oh well.  I have a feeling that no one will even remember it next week.  I am totally okay with that.

 

     After church we went to celebrate Father’s Day with my parents and siblings, and I haven’t laughed that hard in ages.  We were reminiscing about toys and games we played with when we were kids, some of which we had kept.  My brother Konnon pulled some of his out and we taught my kids the joys of “Run Yourself Ragged” and “Cat’s Eye”.  At some point someone decided it would be funny to secretly take all the yellow marbles out of the pot and assign that color to poor Hannah.  My sweet, patient girl kept pumping out a line of marbles and dumping them back into the middle, never making any progress or realizing that her uncles had tricked her.  When they finally came clean, she rolled her eyes and laughed her loud, shrieky laugh, then asked to play again, but with all the marbles this time

 

     We had a wonderful dinner of turkey, mashed potatoes and homemade gravy, corn, rolls, jello, a vegetable tray and fresh watermelon.  It was like Thanksgiving, only without all the stress.  My mom had even ordered pies (FIVE!!!) for Kenny and my dad, and my two unmarried brothers.  We had a good laugh about the strawberry pie, which was a crust full of whole strawberries, with a little glaze poured over the top. When Kevin pulled out the whipped cream to dress it up a little, the nozzle was clogged, so it flew out everywhere, like silly string.  My poor sister even wore some in her hair.

 

     My mom brought out a Father’s Day card for all of us to sign, and my brother Konnon started to sign his full name (he’s a notary, so it’s a deeply-ingrained habit).  We teased him about it all night, and naturally we all signed the card with OUR last names, you know, in case Dad forgot who we were.  *grin*  When it was my turn to sign, I signed “Smith”, which set everyone else into hysterics, because I have not been a “Smith” for thirteen years now.  I don’t know what I was thinking!  After that, the “I’m a dummy” badge was passed from my brother to me.  I wore it proudly, with mascara streaming down my cheeks that ached from laughing so hard. 

 

     By the time we’d finished our pies, my mom was ready to send us all home and find a quiet corner of the house to curl up in.  We all had such a great time, though!  (Even my mom.)  It was the perfect way to celebrate fathers and families.

 

     Happy Father’s Day to all you dads out there!  I hope you had a day as great as mine.

 

8 Responses to “Father’s Day”

  1. Rachel Says:

    I am SOOOOOO glad you got together and had a great laugh–family is so wonderful, and I am glad you got to spend the day with YOURS!

    Oh, and I think I have a permanent dummy badge…since it’s been passed to me so many times over the years! 🙂

  2. Mercedes Says:

    What a wonderful time you had! Wonderful memories for years to come!

    *spritz*

  3. That celebration sounds very nice! It’s great to remember to laugh. Your description is so uplifting.

  4. kweenmama Says:

    It sounds like your family enjoys being together. Our family gets together often too, and whenever we reminisce we end up in hysterics. It’s a great time.

    I think Hannah should seek some revenge on her uncles! 🙂

  5. harshsingal Says:

    Hope you had a great time. I miss my parents as I live in different city(due to my job)….

  6. High Hopes Says:

    Sounds like you had a lovely time! My bday happens to fall on father’s day occasionally. So on Sunday, the dh and I were trying to out pretend sleep each other to see who would get breakfast in bed, 🙂

    We compromised and had bday for breakfast instead.

  7. High Hopes Says:

    I meant to say bday cake for breakfast.

  8. Goldie Says:

    awww, that sounds so fun! We spent Father’s Day going to ride the REAL Thomas The Tank Engine in Amish Country. That was fun too. I had shoo-fly pie. It was yucky. Think I would have preferred your strawberry.


Leave a Reply

