Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

I’m sensing a pattern here… June 19, 2008

     Last week was our monthly Enrichment meeting.  In May we had a really good (for our ward, anyway) turnout when we made decorative Mother’s Day soap bottles, but last week?  Not so much.  Six women showed up to our Summer Kickoff Party.  Six.  Actually, since both myself and the Relief Society President were in attendance, that means four women showed up who weren’t obligated by their calling to be there.

 

     We had a lot of fun anyway.  We chatted about what to do with kids during the summer, and we shared some great ideas about inexpensive or free (free is friendly!) field trips.  We brought our favorite summer recipes to share.  We also talked about family traditions and family reunion ideas, and I think we all left with new ideas we were excited to try out.

 

     Oh, and I made Candy Bar Salad, and that is DIVINE.  We eat it in the summer.  Sometimes it’s all we eat!  (kidding)

 

     So even though we already had an Enrichment activity, I planned to host a book club for this month also, because so many sisters in our ward showed an interest.  I picked a book I knew would draw a crowd.  We invited the Young Women to join us, because so many of them had already read it.  I had people stopping me in the halls at church, telling me how excited they were to come, so I felt really confident that we would have a great turnout and really get to bond with each other over Twilight, ’cause it’s such a fantastic book. 

 

     Well, “If you read it, they will come” turned out to be a BIG FAT LIE!!!

 

     We had six show up again.  SIX.  One woman hadn’t read it, one woman read it and hated it, and one woman hadn’t finished it, but didn’t want us to ruin anything for her.  Do you know how hard it is to discuss a book when you can’t discuss the whole thing?  Or when you talk about an element of the book and someone starts suggesting other (better, in her opinion) titles?   

 

     The frosting on the whole messy cake was that I hosted it at my house, and since it was a nice night, we sat out on the front grass.  I tucked my kids into bed with their magazines (we have a “magazine night” once a month where they get the periodicals I’ve intercepted from the mailbox), left Alex and Kendra in charge, and told them to come out only if someone was in mortal peril.  THEY got it. 

 

     Hannah flitted out every two to three minutes, though.  I am not EVEN kidding.

 

     “Mom?  I bumped my head right here.  I know there’s nothing there.  I just wanted to tell you.”

     “Mom, Anthony is playing with the blinds.  I thought you should know.”

     “Mom, are you having fun?”

     “Mom, can I have a cupcake?  No?  I should go back in the house?  Can I have one in there?”

     “Mom?  Mom, I hurt my hip.  Is it red?”

     “Mom, would you like me to rub your feet?  I will, you know.”  (I almost took her up on that one.)

     “Mommy?  What book are you reading?  Oh wow, is that the bookmark I made you in Primary?  I’m going to go tell Alex and Kendra.”

     “Mommy?  Alex and Kendra said that you weren’t using my bookmark, but I told them you were.”

     “Mommy?  I just wanted to tell you that I love you.  Oooh, can I have a cupcake?”

     “Mom?  I know you’re getting mad at me, but I just wanted to see what you were doing.  And to tell the ladies hi.  ‘Hi!'”

     “Mommy?  Mommy, when are you going to be done?  I want to know so I can see if there are any extra cupcakes.”

 

     Oh, she was so unhappy with me when Alex and Kendra earned an extra hour EACH of computer/Nintendo time tomorrow for following directions!  You should have heard the indignant sobs.  (You probably did.  Yeah, that was Hannah.)

 

     The most disappointing thing about tonight was all the work I’d put into it to make it fun.  I made white cupcakes with vanilla frosting to represent the vampires (then added apples- yes, those ARE apples, you know, because the book has an apple on the cover?- to brighten them up a bit), and peanut butter bars to represent the werewolves.  (Kenny asked me what peanut butter bars had to do with werewolves.  Duh…  they’re both brown!  *snort*)  As a finishing touch, I bought Sprite to drink, because vampires look sparkly in the sunshine.  All in all, I thought it was clever.  A little cheesy, maybe, but fun.  I guess I was the only one, though, because no one else ate anything.  I still have 28 cupcakes and a whole pan of peanut butter bars.  And no, I am not going to allow Hannah to eat them all, no matter how much she begs.  Or rubs my feet.

 

     The guys at Kenny’s work, however, are going to love me.

 

 

 

 

5 Responses to “I’m sensing a pattern here…”

  1. Mercedes Says:

    Hannah is too funny! Bless her-not following directions!

    I have started posting more teacher type posts if you are interested.

    Haley’s Hints.

    *spritz*

  2. Kemi Says:

    Hee hee hee, Mer, in a year from now, she could be in YOUR class!!! 😀

    Thanks for the new link.

  3. Rachel Says:

    Darn it Kemi! If I were there, I would be at EVERY activity! Seriously–how fun are you?!!? And you know what? I just GET you…I get your thoughts and your ideas and why you do certain things…

    I love that about YOU….how funny that we have somehow come to meet in a world FAR apart, but yet I feel like we have been friends before…

    You did a great job….feel proud…no matter who dismisses all your hard work.

  4. I agree with Rachel. Your ideas, Kemi, are excellent.

  5. kweenmama Says:

    I would have come to your activities. My step-daughter wanted me to read Twilight and the sequels. I read them all last summer and loved them–although I was disappointed in the ending of the third book, I wanted more for the werewolf.

    You now have me craving peanut butter bars…


Leave a Reply

