Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

The dog days of summer… June 27, 2008

Filed under: Kendra,kids,The Looney Bin — Kemi @ 10:28 pm
Tags: , , ,

     As if my life weren’t already crazy enough, between the kids, the niece, the husband and the church calling, yesterday I volunteered– nay, begged like a fool– to adopt a new puppy.  This friend got the puppy from her friend, who “owned” the puppy for two days.  (Note to readers:  getting a puppy just to spite your husband who was irritated with the FIRST puppy you brought home just one week before is NEVER a good idea.  That is how the puppy came to leave her first owner, to fall into the hands of the second (temporary) owner, who is a friend of my sister’s.  She happened to mention it off-handedly, and next thing you know, we’re the proud owners of TWO dogs.)

 

 

     The puppy is adorable.  She’s a Chihuahua/Italian Greyhound mix, and she’s only seven weeks old.  Her body is so long and her head so big, she loses her balance and has to regain it by skipping sideways.  She has really bonded with Kendra, and follows her around everywhere.  She seems to get along very well with Reeses, too, and he’s acting like a lovesick fool, bringing her his toys (most of which are as big as she is!) and curling up next to her crate at night.  It will be fun to see them interact as she grows bigger.  They should be about the same size. 

 

 

     We decided to name her Skittles, to keep with the dog/candy theme.  (Reeses LOOKS like a peanut butter cup.  Skittles like skittles?  Not so much.)  We credit the name choice to my friend Debbie, who came to do some visiting teaching and asked where our dog “Skittles” was.  (She meant Reeses.)  We all laughed about the mix-up, but then a few hours later, when we saw our new puppy, Skittles just fit her personality.  What a happy accident! 

 

     She was up most of the night last night, whining and crying.  It was heartbreaking to hear her, but I know that in order to train her to sleep through the night, she has to get used to her crate.  I really wanted to smuggle her into my bed, just for some quiet, but I resisted.  Reeses went crazy, trying to comfort her through the holes, and I’m not sure whether it helped her settle down or just riled her up more.  Ugh.  I don’t remember Reeses being quite that bad.  (It’s probably like that “mommy amnesia” that wipes your mind blank after giving birth.)

 

     Four years ago this week, we brought Reeses home to our brand new house.  (Every house needs a puppy, right?)  What is it about the last week in June that makes us vulnerable to cute, teeny Chihuahua-mix dogs? 

 

     From now on, I’m scheduling our vacations for June 23-29.

 

     

         

 

(This is my favorite picture.  It so perfectly sums up the whirlwind day.)

    

 

7 Responses to “The dog days of summer…”

  1. Mercedes Says:

    Oh~I enjoyed this story so much! I am glad the little puppy found a great home! Both dogs are precious! I have a lot of dog blog buddies too. One has 2 chihuahuas-Another has 2 chihuahuas-And another has 3 chihuahuas…and the others…I won’t go into that-lol! Oh~and I love their names too!

  2. Rachel Says:

    SOOO CUTE! I love those little dogs. And what a hysterical little story about how they were named! 🙂

    You are a much better mom than I….it is doubtful we will ever own a dog….ever. 🙂

  3. Sweet! I like their names.

  4. K. Trainor Says:

    Awwww…those pics are just precious! 😀 Nooooo puppies ’round these parts. I can’t stand the whining and toilet training. I like full grown dogs that already know what to do. (Yep, I’m THAT lazy!) lol!

  5. Rebecca Says:

    CUTE CUTE CUTE CUUUUUUUUUUUTE PUPPY!!!!

    I am so envious of you. Clark and I would LOVE a puppy but our apartment isn’t big enough to hold 2 cats & a dog. 😦

    So cute.

    I LOVE the last picture of your daughter and the puppy sleeping – priceless 🙂

  6. High Hopes Says:

    They are so cute Kemi! I love the pictures with the kids.

    Puppies = baby = sleepless night= training = in the end fun!

  7. kweenmama Says:

    Cute puppy! And skittles just fits the way you describe the dog losing her balance and having to skip sideways. Doesn’t a dog skipping just sound like that: skittle, skittle, skittle. 🙂


Leave a Reply

