Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Back to pencils, back to books… August 25, 2008

Filed under: Alex,Anthony,education,family,Hannah,Kendra — Kemi @ 12:50 pm
Tags: , , ,

     Today was the first day back to school for Alex and Kendra.  I am officially the mother of a fourth-grader and a third-grader.

 

     I swear they were just babies.  Wasn’t it just a few months ago that we were doing preschool at home, and they were mistaken for twins, with their curly hair and big eyes?  How is it that two more preschoolers have replaced them?

 

     When I was a kid, I loved going back to school.  There was something so envigorating about the crisp notebooks and sharp crayons and the smell of new textbooks…  and the sense of adventure that came with new teachers and curriculums.

 

     As a teacher, I loved those same things, and I also loved getting my classroom organized, as well as planning out the new year.  I always tried to find things to improve from the previous school year(s), and it was adventuresome for me to meet 26 new students and find out how best to help them learn and grow.

 

     Some days I really miss teaching.  The first day of school is always one of those days.  🙂

 

     Now that I’m a parent, I try to spoil my kids’ teachers and do things for them that I enjoyed (or would have loved to enjoy) during my time in the classroom.  Besides volunteering each week, I donate what I can to the classroom (always tissues and sandwich baggies, and usually stickers, pencils, small rewards, etc.).  

 

     When Alex was in Kindergarten, between a neighbor’s and my uncle’s abundant fruit trees, I had boxes and boxes of apples to use.  I found a really delicious Apple Bread recipe, and we took it to Alex’s teacher when we met for Parent-Teacher conferences.  She loved it so much, she requested it the next year when Kendra was in her class.  It became a tradition, and now my kids take a loaf of apple bread to their teachers on the first day of school.  We call it Back-to-School Bread. 

 

     (I made four large loaves and four mini-loaves last night, sliced them, wrapped them in tinfoil and put them on the counter.  While I was in the shower this morning, Anthony– the little stinker!– climbed up on the counter, grabbed a loaf, unwrapped it, ATE THE MIDDLE OUT OF IT  from the top, then tried to re-wrap it.  I have to consider myself lucky that he did such a poor job and it caught my attention.  Can you imagine what someone would think if they unwrapped a loaf of bread and saw Anthony’s carnage?  Remember what I said about hiding your baked goodsTAKE YOUR OWN ADVICE, KEMI!!!)

 

      I meant to do a post last week about some of our favorite summer memories, but I let other things get in the way.  I think it fits here, as one season fades into another, so at the end of this post I will leave you with some memories I blogged about, and some I didn’t.

 

     Happy back-to-school, everyone!  I hope your school year is educational and fun, and full of adventure.  (The good kind!)    😉

*~*~*~*~* 

 

 Kemi’s Memories

Piggy Toes

Home Appraisal  (which STILL hasn’t gone through, thanks to Brent and his catastrophic mistakes… we are working through all the red tape)

Skittles

Vacation

Kidney Stones

New Plumbing!

 

  

Kendra and Hannah blowing bubbles on a very  windy day.

 

 

Hannah got all dressed up to go to Sam’s Club with Kenny.

 

 

   

After Anthony’s crib gymnastics, we traded it out for the toddler bed.  You’ll notice how he’s not actually IN the bed for two of the three shots?  Yeah, that’s typical.  *sigh*

 

 

Washing Daddy’s car (or was it each other?)

 

8 Responses to “Back to pencils, back to books…”

  1. We have a Kindergartener who rides the bus now. His little sister also wants to ride the bus and is very angry that she can’t ride the bus. In a few years, she’ll be able to.

  2. Awww, that is so exciting. Can you imagine how weird it will be when they’re all in school one day?

    The apple bread story was HILARIOUS! You should post the recipe, though, it sounds good. 🙂

    Hope you’re doing well Kemi! Thanks for visiting me earlier!

  3. K. Trainor Says:

    Awwww how cute are they? That picture needs a frame fo’ sho’. 😀

  4. Rachel Says:

    What a fun summer–memorable, with good and bad, loaded with fun activities and a super cool mom. Really, who could ask for more? 🙂

  5. kweenmama Says:

    What a great tradition to give your kids’ teachers apple bread on the first day of school! So thoughtful and so appreciated, I’m sure.

  6. High Hopes Says:

    Hi Kemi!

    Those are such cute pictures! Can you email the recipe for the apple bread, it sounds yummy! Bed gymnastics, I remember those days.

    My daughter started back to school today, grade 6. I am trying to figure out where the time goes. She also grew half inch over the summer and she is closing in on my height. I will soon be living in a land of giants in my house. The only one I will tower over is the dog.

  7. Alex and Kendra looked great on their first day of school! Hahaha, take your own advice about the baked goods. That bread is such a nice gift.

  8. Sharane Says:

    I love your website! You really are a great writer! I cannot believe how big your kids are? That are so darling! After all these years, I still miss having you as my neighbor!


Leave a Reply

