Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Random Things Meme– Take 2! September 1, 2008

Filed under: Kemi,meme — Kemi @ 2:18 am
Tags:

     My friend Rachel tagged me with a random-things meme.  I get tagged with a lot of memes I don’t follow through with, and I want to go on the record by saying my lack of participation is nothing personal.  Some of them seem too daunting, or require preparation that I am not willing to complete.  I like this meme because it asks for no pictures of my messy home, and, well, really, I can go on all day about me.

 

     I’m kidding.

 

     I did one similar to this already, loooong ago, so you can read that one first, and then come back to this one.  My life is so exciting that I know you’ll be praising your DSL connection for its speed, and you’re welcome for the pop-up window.  I won’t be tagging anyone new, but if you’d like to tag yourself, put a link in the comments below.  Come one, now, who doesn’t love to read quirky things about their friends?

 

     Ready?  Here we go…

 

1.  I have always loved reading.  (So much so, that when I was younger, instead of grounding me from friends or television, my mom would take away my books.  THAT was torture, and I hated it.)  Throughout my school career, I was always enrolled in Honors or AP English classes, but I carried a dirty little secret:  I only read one curriculum-related book from cover to cover in those four years.  What book earned that dubious honor?  To Kill a Mockingbird.  Sophomore Honors English.  The region swim meet, racing in the earliest events, and having HOURS to kill.  I curled up in a shower stall and read the entire book.

 

Wait, no, I read two.  I also read The Grapes of Wrath  the summer before AP English, and I hated the ending.

 

So, not only did I not finish about 30 required-reading books from grades 9-12, I didn’t even crack at least six of them.  Not even one page.  I was a good listener, and I picked up on a lot of insights during class discussions.  Enough to pass the classes with A’s.  Sad, isn’t it?

 

2.  My favorite television show of all time is “Friends”.  (Ironically, it’s on in the background as I’m typing.  “WE WERE ON A BREAK!!!!!”)  Unintentionally, I often include at least one quote from the show in every conversation.  It’s such a bummer to have to explain myself to those who are not “in the know”.

 

3.  I have only romantically kissed two men in my life.  One is my husband.  I can’t decide if that’s something to be proud of or embarrassed by.

 

4.  I have a wicked sense of humor.  (Please agree with me, even if you disagree.  My ego needs it.)  I never thought of myself as particularly funny until after I was married.  Maybe it was after I had my kids.  Sometimes I try to be funny on purpose, like when I’m in front of a large group, and sometimes I’m funny purely by accident.  I really like blogging because I can be mildly sarcastic, and you think I’m hilarious.  (Thank you for that.)  In “real life” I am too afraid of hurting someone’s feelings to toss out the snappy one-liners I’m always thinking in my head.

 

5.  Apparently I still suck my thumb when I get really tired.  I was absolutely sure I gave that habit up a long time ago (YEARS and YEARS ago.  DECADES, even!), but my husband assures me that, on occasion, he comes to bed and finds me clutching my childhood pillow with my thumb in my mouth.  Niiiiiiice.

 

6.  I much prefer being cold to too hot.  If it were up to me, I’d set our thermostat to 64 degrees year-round.  I like to feel cozy by wearing a sweater or cuddling under a blanket, and it’s hard to achieve that cozy feeling when the temperature outside is ninety-plus.  It drives Kenny crazy when I don’t wear a coat in the winter.  I’ve even been known to shovel the driveway in shorts and flip-flops.  Of course, I have several extra layers of internal insulation, so who needs a coat when you’ve got fat?

 

4 Responses to “Random Things Meme– Take 2!”

  1. K. Trainor Says:

    I love these things. It’s fun to get to know you a little bit. 🙂 I’m on the run today, but maybe I’ll tag m’self later on, too. (Run! You have been warned!)

  2. Rachel Says:

    WHEW! Check all that out! That was fun to read!! 🙂 Seriously, I have a hard time when everyone tags me. I like it–I do. I am glad they are thinking of me. But sometimes I just don’t have the time (like you said) to put everything together, and sometimes I have already posted like 8 posts that day and I feel like if I post ONE MORE, it will be OVERKILL. 🙂

    Thanks for humoring me…I sure do love getting to know you better!

  3. Loralee Says:

    I spend half of my life freezing to death.

    I swear it can be 80 degrees out and my hands and feet will be freezing.

  4. kweenmama Says:

    Both memes were fun to read. My parents also had to punish me by taking away my books. I LOVED to read as a kid. Still do, I just have to plan my schedule around reading because once I start I don’t want to put the book down.


Leave a Reply

