Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Getting to know you, getting to know all about you… September 2, 2008

Filed under: family,games,kids,Mormon, LDS — Kemi @ 10:14 pm
Tags: , , , ,

     We just finished up with one of the most fun Family Home Evenings we’ve had in a long, looooong time.  ( I know the traditional FHE night is Monday, but Kenny has Tuesdays off every week, so we have ours on a different night.  *shrug*  It works for us.)

 

     Kendra was in charge of the lesson, and she decided to talk about family, and how important it is to be close and loving with each other.  (The lesson was brief– we’re talking one minute, tops.)  Then she introduced a game I helped her create, and we played it.  And laughed.  And giggled.  And laughed some more.

 

     Kendra gave each member of the family a sheet of paper with six questions printed on it, and asked us to fill it out.  (She hand-wrote all of them.  She spent over an hour preparing everything.  Cute, diligent girl.)  Her questions were:  favorite color, favorite book, favorite day of the year, favorite animal, favorite movie and favorite holiday.  After each survey was filled out, we took turns hosting a segment of the game.  The host would ask the rest of the family to answer the six questions based on his or her answers, and any matches earned a point.  (Sort of like the Newlywed Game, only family style.)

 

     We let Hannah and Anthony participate at their level, which meant repetetive writing of the alphabet for Hannah in place of actual written responses, and bold vertical pencil strokes for Anthony.  (“Look, Mama, it’s a train!”  “Look, Mama, it’s a ladder!”)  When it was her turn to play hostess, Hannah was very generous with her answers.  When someone gave a different response, she’d say, “Well, I like that too.  You can have a point.”  It was really cute, how much she wanted everyone to feel victorious.

 

     I earned 14 points, Kendra got 12, and Kenny and Alex both got 10.  I think it really bothered Kenny that he didn’t get more questions right, so I pointed out- to the whole table- that since I am home with the kids all day, I knew more of the answers, and even I didn’t get a perfect score.  Everyone commented on how much fun we had, and throughout the night there were choruses of “YES!  I KNEW it!” and groans of “Oh, man, I should have known that one!”  My very favorite thing to hear was, “Really?  I didn’t know that about you.  That is so cool!”

 

     (I’d also like to state, for the record, that I matched all six of Kenny’s questions.  Go me!)   😀

 

     To end our night, we sang an old Primary song called “When We’re Helping We’re Happy”, and we made up helping actions to go with each member of the family.  Kenny’s was “spider fingers”, a tickling sensation that Kendra came up with to rub his back and feet, mine was washing dishes (naturally), Alex’s was smiling and being happy, Kendra’s was brushing her hair, Hannah’s was riding her bike, and Anthony’s was playing cars.

 

When we’re helping we’re happy, and we sing as we go,

For we like to help (insert name here), for we all love (insert pronoun here) so.

Tra la la la la la la, tra la la la la la.

Tra la la la la la la, tra la la la la la. 

 

     Things were okay until we got to Kendra’s verse, when, during the “Tra La La” part of the song, Alex grabbed a chunk of his hair and yelled, “OW!”  (Kendra’s hair is naturally curly and long, and the combination causes a lot of tears and frustration each morning.  Especially from me.)  It was so fitting, and so hilarious, we all burst into giggles.  Then when it was Hannah’s turn, she alternated between “pedaling” her hands furiously and “riding” one -handed.  By the time we got to Anthony’s cars, they were zooming into outer space.  (Hmmm, now that I think about it, I may have started the mayhem by making faces during Alex’s verse.  Nah, probably not.  Doesn’t sound like something I’d do…)

 

     Our closing prayer wasn’t as reverent as it should have been (due to the outrageous closing-song antics), but I think Heavenly Father looked past it this time.  After all, we were bonding on not only a familial level, but an eternal one.

 

     We are such a big bunch of dorks.  A happy, giggling, sometimes-irreverent, close-knit, caring, helpful and loving bunch of dorks, who are so thankful to be sealed together for eternity. 

 

     I can’t imagine a group of people I’d rather spend forever with than my little family. 

 

******      ******      ******      ******      ******      ******

 

Kenny   (38)

favorite color- red 

favorite book- The Wheel of Time series

favorite day of the year- Christmas Eve/April 6 

favorite animal- wolf

favorite movie- Lord of the Rings trilogy 

favorite holiday- Independence Day

 

Kemi   (33)

favorite color- periwinkle 

favorite book- Twilight series

favorite day of the year- first day of school 

favorite animal- cow

favorite movie- Seven Brides for Seven Brothers

favorite holiday- Thanksgiving

 

Alex   (9)

favorite color- yellow 

favorite book- Harry Potter series

favorite day of the year- birthday 

favorite animal- dog

favorite movie- 101 Dalmatians 

favorite holiday- Christmas

 

Kendra   (8)

favorite color- blue 

favorite book- Camp Rock

favorite day of the year- first day of school   (I think my girl is going to be a teacher, just like her mama and grandma)

favorite animal- horse

favorite movie- Camp Rock/The Little Mermaid

favorite holiday- Christmas

 

Hannah   (4)

favorite color- PINKANDPURPLE!!!  (shouted out just like that)

favorite book- Belle  (any one of a dozen books she owns about the Disney princess)

favorite day of the year- Halloween

favorite animal- giraffe

favorite movie- Beauty and the Beast

favorite holiday- Halloween

 

Anthony   (2)

By the time we got to him, he was completely distracted and ready to move on.  He kept asking me who won, and I’d say, “You’re the winner!”  Then he’d grin and say, “No I’m not!”

I think I’ll ask him what his answers would have been, just for fun.  Or posterity.  Most definitely for future teasing.  😉

 

UPDATED:  Anthony’s answers:  (Verbatim.  That needs to be specified.)

favorite color- 45678910   (*sigh*)

favorite book- Harry Potter

favorite day of the year- my birthday!

favorite animal- rooooaaar

favorite movie- Junior’s Giants

favorite holiday- my BIRTHDAY!

 

Funny boy.

 

5 Responses to “Getting to know you, getting to know all about you…”

  1. Rachel Says:

    cute, cute! I love that idea. So fun and creative. I love those memories where you just bond and enjoy and life seems at peace.

  2. Sparky Says:

    From one dork to another, it sounds like a ton of fun!!! What a blessing you are as dearest wife and dearest mom! The only game I recall the family playing together as a kid is Yahtzee :).

  3. K. Trainor Says:

    Such a cool Mom you are! Oh, and just for sitting there for so long, Anthony most definitely won! 😀

  4. kweenmama Says:

    You can let Anthony know that 45678910 is my favorite color too!

    And when I was single and dating for the second time I dated a guy who LOVED the Wheel of Time series. He started me reading them but when we stopped dating I stopped reading them.

  5. Sharene Says:

    Hey Kemi! I found your blog off of Jen’s. It was so good to see you a couple times this past week. Thanks for the idea for FHE. I’m trying to put together FHE packets for my siblings and myself and this is a great idea!


Leave a Reply

