Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Etsy Headbands September 24, 2008

Filed under: Kemi — Kemi @ 12:30 pm
Tags: , , , ,

     Last Friday, my friend Fighting Windmills posted a review of these amazing, fabric-covered headbands on her blog.  She said they were comfortable enough to wear all day, and that they were no-slip.  She also said that the price was increasing on October 1, and that was all I needed to hear.

 

     I ordered four.

Black and White Mod Dots Flexible Fabric HeadbandSludge Green Flexible Fabric HeadbandChocolate Lollipop Small Flowers Flexible Fabric HeadbandPapillon Blue Green and Metallic Silver Flowers Flexible Fabric Headband

 

     Monday morning, there was a package in my mailbox.  I couldn’t figure out what it could possibly be, so imagine my surprise when I saw the four adorable headbands that I had ordered just THREE DAYS earlier.  I showed my daughters, who ooohed and aaaahed with me in their squealing, little-girl way, and then I forbid them from wearing them, lest they get ruined.  (I paid $8 for each of them, and while I’m cheap enough to shrug over a broken $2 headband, sucking up the potential loss of $8 isn’t quite so easy.)

 

     I wore one yesterday, and I am wearing a different one today.  I LOVE them.  They are the best headbands I’ve ever worn, hands down.

 

     My hair is in this yucky, in-between phase right now.  Not long enough to pull back without an arsenal of bobby pins, but too long to do the spiky thing it used to, I need something- anything- to make it look cute, at least until it grows out a little more.  Plus, it’s straight, which means if I wear it in a headband, which is really the only thing that helps hold it in place, the headband is so tight it pinches my ears, or it’s so “flexible” my hair slides right out from under it.  I worried that because it’s short, and straight, with very little body, a wide headband would look funny and out-of-proportion on my flat hair.

 

     I WAS SO WRONG! 

 

     The Etsy headband kept every hair in place, while resting comfortably behind my ears.  I didn’t have to take it out after a few hours to give my head a break.  It even stayed in position when I pulled it down across my hairline, like a scarf, and wore it that way.  Plus– and this is the coolest thing ever!– the headbands have two patterns, one on the top and one on the bottom, and YOU CAN TURN THEM AROUND, which gives you twice the colors.  I just started on one end and gently twisted the material around the headband, and worked over to the other end.

 

     I am HOOKED!  Go buy some.  I promise you, you won’t be sorry.

 

http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=5350019

 

    

 

9 Responses to “Etsy Headbands”

  1. Gasp! It looks so cute on you! You know what is so embarrassing and funny? You figured out that they are reversible on your first day, and it took me more than a month. My friend was looking at mine yesterday (face to face in my living room) and asked me if I thought they could be reversed. I said no. But then after she left I tried reversing it. So now I have another option.

  2. kspin Says:

    Very cute on you! I have back luck with headbands as well…never can find one that fits right. I just might have to try one!

  3. RACHEL Says:

    SOOOOO ADORABLE! Gonna head right on over! HOW CUTE!

  4. I can’t wait to get mine. Should come today or tomorrow.

  5. lifeofdi Says:

    Super cute! I hate the awkward growing out stage. It’s so hard to figure out what to do with it! I love the headbands though.

  6. kweenmama Says:

    I have always avoided headbands because they give me headaches. I think I’ll try these. If they work I will have to hide them from my girls.

  7. sparky Says:

    OOOOOOOHHH!!! Super cute, Ms. Kemi!

  8. High Hopes Says:

    They are super cute! I just cut my hair really short again, I wish I had seen these because I might have thought twice.


Leave a Reply

