Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Totally Unmotivated… October 3, 2008

Filed under: books,The Looney Bin — Kemi @ 2:57 pm
Tags: , , ,

     Today is Friday.  I was up at 4:30 AM with my niece.  I got my kids off to school.  I got into a nice fight with my sister’s ex when he came to get Abbie.  (He told me to “get bent” as he walked away.  Classy, no?  He’s a MODEL of manners and decorum.)

 

     Ahem.

 

     I did three loads of laundry, watched part of Leatherheads with Kenny, and finally, about a half hour ago, made it into the shower and some real clothes that aren’t in the pajama family.

 

     Normally I would call it a day and pretend the goldfish Anthony dumped out and rolled over with his cars could be ignored for a bit.  I would go take a nap and try to sleep off this three-day headache that JUSTthrobWON’TthrobLEAVE.  I would ignore the stacks of clean laundry on the couch and hope that Anthony would, too, instead of sweeping them into a heap on the floor, not unlike a pile of autumn leaves.  (Oh yes, there’s jumping.  And joy.  And wrinkled, smudged clothing that was clean before all the jumping.  And joy.)

 

     The problem is, I am hosting a book club at my house tonight, and my living room looks like four kids live here.  And their rooms threw up all the way down the hall and into the communal living space. 

 

     Last time I hosted a book club, it was an epic fail.  Is it bad of me to hope the same for tonight?  I’d love it if NO ONE showed up.  This month, I’d welcome it.

 

     Because here I sit, completely unmotivated to pick things up, while my head throbthrobthrobs and my eyelids feel heavy.  I am not even motivated by embarrassment, which usually has me cleaning and dusting in a frenzy. 

 

     Perhaps if I leave it the way it is, crumbs and clothes and all the rest, when I open my door to the book club, they will run away in terror.

 

     Oooh, I could get motivated enough to do that…

 

6 Responses to “Totally Unmotivated…”

  1. RACHEL Says:

    I hope your bookclub is more successful this time!! It’s the WORST when you feel completely unmotivated and then make yourself get things done, only to WASTE your time doing so if your event is a flop! 🙂 okay, waste probably isn’t the right word… 🙂

  2. Kemi Says:

    One person came. We had a nice, short discussion about the book, two-year-olds, other authors, and dieting. I was done by 7:45 and in pain-reliever heaven.

    Oh well. At least I had a nice discussion with Susan, and my living room is much neater than it was two days ago, even if it isn’t spotless.

    Now, if I could only figure out how to keep it that way…

  3. sparky Says:

    (((((((((((((Kemi)))))))))))))) Hugs to Kemi. Kick in the rear to butthead “dad,” Jim! Do you need me to call him? I will!

  4. High Hopes Says:

    I know the feeling of demotivated. Are you sure you didn’t share your killer headache? Boy did I have a doozy on Saturday and Sunday. I went to bed with it Saturday night and woke up again at 3 am with it and thought I was going to throw-up. I was digging around in my purse looking for some killer migraine stuff and a tylenol, it sounded like there was a rat in my bedroom. The darn thing lasted all day Sunday. Yuck.

    Hugs to ya darlin’! Give me a call sometime!

  5. kweenmama Says:

    We all have days like that. I think any mom will understand you not feeling motivated. Cut yourself some slack.

  6. K. Trainor Says:

    I hope your throb-throb-throbber has gone away. Headaches make things seem so much worse. And Yay on the clean living room! I understand completely–“their rooms threw up all the way down the hall and into the communal living space.” Drives me batty, too. ((((Kemi))))


Leave a Reply

