Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

A Semi-Homemade Christmas November 21, 2008

Filed under: Holidays,kids — Kemi @ 8:46 pm
Tags: , , ,

     It should come as no secret that this year’s Christmas is a *little* bit tighter than it has been in past years.  Because of that, I’ve been relying on my (rusty) craft skills to make some of the gifts this year.

 

     When I first started this blog, one of the things I wanted to do was crochet scarves for all my kids.  They’ve never had scarves, but they love to use mine, and I thought it would be a nice gift.  I finished the last one about three weeks ago, but got sidetracked and didn’t take a picture until today.

 

     I plan to make Anthony a scarf too, but I was afraid that if I crocheted it, he would find a way to unravel it, so I’m going to get a piece of fleece, cut fringe on both ends, and knot them.  He’ll have a lot harder time destroying THAT scarf, or at least that’s my hope.

 

     I used the basic stitch my grandma taught me 25-ish years ago, when I was about the same age as my oldest kids are now.  I don’t know what it’s called, but I know that it makes excellent dish cloths (Merry Christmas, Mom!), scarves, and when chained in a circle, useless doilies.  (Guess what I found dozens of when I went searching for my old crochet hooks?)   *snort* 

 

     I’ve never done anything more than a few inches of crochet, which I gave up on when the sides resembled a triangle rather than a nice, even rectangle.  Maybe it’s age, or something finally clicked, but after 18 years or more of boycotting all things yarn, I had no problems making the uniform shape I was looking for.

 

scarves1

 

     Alex’s scarf is the white multi-colored one.  I started it way too wide and ended up turning it sideways, which is why the pattern goes in two directions.  It’s symmetrical, so at least there’s that.  (His was the first one, and I was not about to pull out all the stitches and start over.)

 

     Kendra’s is brown and blue striped, made out of the softest, most fuzzy yarn I could find.  She loves the color blue, and a lot of her wardrobe is brown, so she can use it as a warming device and possibly also an accessory.

 

     Hannah’s is the pink one (of course) with the brown border.  Hers is longer than Alex’s OR Kendra’s, because her favorite thing to do is drape herself in my scarves like a Hollywood starlet.  I just realized that she has a matching pair of pink sunglasses, which means the look is complete.  Oy.

 

     It was a lot of fun to make these, and I can’t wait for my kids to see them.  I hope they love wearing them as much as I loved making them. 

 

     I also hope my hands stop cramping, eventually.  I’ve decided that crochet = carpal tunnel .

 

5 Responses to “A Semi-Homemade Christmas”

  1. kweenmama Says:

    I remember being taught how to crochet as a “Merry Miss.” You’re probably too young to remember what that was. I don’t think I could do it now…too old to remember how. I wish I did know how to crochet though.

  2. K. Trainor Says:

    What a wonderful idea–warm fuzziness. Sort of a mom-hug when they’re out and about! 🙂

    I marvel at people who make beautiful things. To create something special out of nothing is a real gift. Well done!

  3. Rachel Says:

    SOOOO IMPRESSED! You are not only talented but ahead of the game in the gift department–meager Christmas or not. 🙂

  4. Wendy Says:

    You go girl!! Everything I’ve ever tried to crochet turned out crooked.

  5. Beautiful scarves, Kemi! I like your idea for the fleece one too. That’s the kind that my daughter has and she loves it, but I didn’t make it. Sorry about the carpal tunnel! Ouch.


Leave a Reply

