Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Laundry and “Love Song” December 11, 2008

Filed under: Anthony,Hannah,Kendra,motherhood,music — Kemi @ 5:36 pm
Tags: , , , ,

     This afternoon I decided to tackle the laundry I’ve avoided for the past few days, and to make the folding less painful, I stuck my i-pod in my ears.  (I don’t know how it is for you, but at my house, the second I stick those ear buds in, every kid needs to tell me something.  Usually at the same time.)

 

     I knelt at the couch and got a good rhythm going with the whites, when Anthony emerged from his bedroom, bleary-eyed and still sleepy after his nap.  I motioned for him to come closer, so I could hug him, and I started singing along to the music.  Hannah wanted in on the hug too, and I held them in each arm and swayed to the beat of the song.  Kendra came from her bedroom to see what I was singing, and when I got to the phrase just before the chorus, her face lit up and she joined in.

 

     “I’m not going to write you a love song…”

 

     Hannah jumped in, too, although she was less sure of the words.

 

     …” ’cause you asked for it, ’cause you need one.  You see, I’m not going to write you a love song ’cause you tell me it’s make or break in this.  If you’re on your way, I’m not going to write you to stay.  If all I have is leavin’ I’m’na need a better reason to write you a love song today.”

 

     After the chorus ended, they all drifted off, but for a minute, we shared a moment.

 

     I think if I had more of those during the day, I’d be better motivated to fold more laundry.  😀

 

4 Responses to “Laundry and “Love Song””

  1. Rachel Says:

    I could definitely see why! 🙂 What a fun moment to share…

  2. gr8tful Says:

    How wonderful, I hope all is well!! HUGS!!

  3. Di Says:

    This is a lovely story. One of our chores growing up was rotating helping mom do the laundry every week and while I resented having to get up early at the time and help, those memories are really great now. You sound like such a wonderful mom.

  4. Goldie Says:

    that was so sweet. glad you were perceptive enough to “see” the moment and grab it.

    I have 4 loads of clean laundry taunting me right now *sigh*


Leave a Reply

