Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Observations… January 3, 2009

 

     It has been a day.  (I’ll leave it at that.)

 

     Because it has been a day, I have had some things rolling around in my head that were just dying to be put in blog-post form.

 

     Don’t you feel lucky?

 

Observation #1When you go to the doctor for a physical for the first time in nearly four years, go FASTING, so they can draw your bloodwork on that very same day.

Also, keep good records of your previous tetanus shots.  When the doctor says it’s been ten years, and you KNOW you’ve had one since then but can’t prove it, be prepared to get shot in the arm.

Sub-observation b—   When they give you a shot that needs to be “worked out” to minimize pain, be sure you know BEFORE you get the shot, so you can get it in the arm you write with, instead of the other, less-utilized one.

 

Observation #2When you go to have bloodwork done on a Saturday morning, and your husband assures you he’ll get up to shovel the 2+ inches of snow that fell the night before, be prepared to shovel it yourself.  On an empty stomach that hasn’t had food or water in 13 hours.

Celebrate the extra exercise you’ll get to add to the Wii Fit.  Seriously consider bagging real  Wii Fit training for the day.

 

Observation #3When the vampires at the lab draw five vials of blood out of your arm, and your veins are like garden hoses even when mildly dehydrated, is it too much to ask for them to hit a vein on the first try? 

I swear, this morning, the needle went in sideways.  SIDEWAYS. 

 

Observation #4When your kids want to have a party and make you the guest of honor, let them.  I’ve never been so happy to see 1000 strips of paper taped to a bedroom wall, nor felt so honored to wear a paper crown adorned with red paper hearts.  We played a rousing game of “I Spy” before everyone sort of drifted off to their own activities, but it was a FUN party, albeit short-lived.

(I may not be so happy in a week, when the paper strips have made their way off the wall, onto shoes and/or socks, and moved through the house, but then again, maybe I’ll put my crown on and we’ll party some more while we clean them up.)

By the way, it hurts your heart a little when your kids ask you if you’ll come, and then express utter joy and disbelief when you say, “Yes, I’d love to attend.”

 

Observation #5It is not nearly as fun to take the Christmas tree down as it is to put it up.

Although, when your husband says the same thing, you wonder if it’s his way of getting out of helping.  (Yup, probably is.)

Also, how is it that in the five weeks since the furniture was rearranged to accomodate the tree, the couch had more toys and papers stuffed under it than it did for all four previous months combined?

 

Observation #6An ice-cold Pepsi is the nectar of the gods. 

It makes everything better.

 

Observation #7 Tomorrow is my blog-oversary, and I have no gifts to give.

Pa rum pum pum pum.

I will figure something out AFTER I get the living room put back together.  (I can’t guarantee you’ll be excited about it. ) (That would be the gift, not the living room.  Although I’m sure you wouldn’ t get excited about my living room, either.)

 

 

     See you tomorrow!  I’m sure you can’t WAIT!!!   😀

 

8 Responses to “Observations…”

  1. K. Trainor Says:

    Sideways, you say? You definitely earned that Pepsi! Hope tomorrow is much better for you, Kemi. *hug*

  2. zenbiscuit Says:

    Sometimes I wonder whether the vamps dont get some perverse sort of pleasure out of harassing and agitating your veins. Perks of the job, that sort of thing.:-/

  3. Rachel Says:

    Geesh! What’ s all this bloodwork for?? I hope things are okay over there…

    For all the stress you have been under, you sure do observe a lot. I think I would be frazzled beyond belief…and then to have attended a party in your honor? WOW! You’re a supermom…

  4. Jennifer Says:

    They cant ever get me on the first time when it comes to drawing blood so I know how you feel no fun at all that is for sure, but at least you are a sport about it

  5. Sky Says:

    Kemi, have a blessed New Year!!!

  6. lifeofdi Says:

    Happy blogoversary!

  7. High hopes Says:

    Happy Blogversary! You don’t need to do gifts, just sharing your life and stories is gift enough!!!

    So about that Christmas tree why not wait a month or two to take it down. I swear I will have my down by the weekend, it is not going to be March this year! I am still being teased.

    BTW hope all is well with the blood tests!

  8. kweenmama Says:

    Once your kids are teenagers you can assign them to help put away Christmas decor as part of their regular chores and/or you can offer to pay them for the really time consuming jobs (such as taking down the Christmas tree). I did both this year and had all decorations down my New Year’s Eve–and it felt wonderful!

    P.S. Hope your arm isn’t too sore!


Leave a Reply

