Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Blog Reflections January 5, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kemi @ 11:02 pm
Tags: , ,

 

     Yesterday was my 1st official Blog-oversary.

 

     One year ago yesterday, I did the “all my friends have one, so I guess I should too” thing and started writing down my random, incoherent, sometimes silly thoughts.

 

     Notice how I keep saying “yesterday”?

 

     Yeah, I missed it.

 

     Typical.    Typical Kemi.

 

     I’ve been stressing about how to make the occasion memorable, although, as far as occasions go, it’s no Golden Wedding Anniversary.  It does  rank higher than, say, a root canal anniversary or “it’s been a year since my last mammogram”, but in the great spectrum of things?  it’s not a big deal.   Because of this relative insignificance, I decided that it’s not worth the stress of making a grand (timely!) post, full of wit and charm and the right balance of humor and sarcasm.

 

     You get this post, and future ones, instead.  Feel lucky?

 

     So here’s the deal:  I am going to do a few related blog-oversary posts this week, and I’d appreciate comments.  You know, because I’ve been doing this for a year.  (And a day.)  And I love comments.  And traffic.  (Well, blog traffic.  Regular traffic?  Not so much.)  I think that comments (and traffic, and link love) will be the perfect way to help me celebrate my 366 days of cyber ranting.

 

     In return, I have decided to do without the lame giveaways, because, to be perfectly honest, I am too embarrassed to offer them out as prizes.  They aren’t used dental floss or a year’s worth of bellybutton lint, or anything weird like that, but they’re no exotic trip to Fiji.  We’re in a recession, after all, and my husband sells cars.  Chevys.  (Chevies?)  Times are tight.

 

     So in honor of, well, yesterday, I thought I’d give you some numbers from my stats board.  I always love looking at them.  Especially when the little visitor tally line graph thingy peaks like Mt. Everest.

 

Blog Stats Total views: 18,014

Busiest day: 155 — Wednesday, December 10, 2008

Totals

Posts: 188

Comments: 1,086

Categories: 49

Tags: 552

Top 5 Posts for the Year

Helping Hands Soap Bottle Instructions 1,031

List of my favorite drinks 893

May’s Enrichment Night 555

List of Favorite Musicals 490

The trouble with “Twilight”… 439

 

     Not bad, right?  Who would’ve thought an inexpensive neighbor gift could generate so many hits?  The drink list makes me laugh too, because when you’re looking for drink-drinks, as in alcoholic, you’ve come to the wrong page.  😀   And when I think of the Twilight post I cringe, because, W-O-W, there are a lot of people reading about how ridiculous I allowed myself to get over a book.

 

     Here’s to another year of blogging.  I hope you’ll join me for the journey.

 

     At the very least, I hope you’ll join me for the next post.

 

*clink*

 

7 Responses to “Blog Reflections”

  1. lifeofdi Says:

    HURRAH! Glad you found my posts, so I could blog stalk you for the past almost a year.

  2. highhopes1 Says:

    Hi Kemi

    HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY!!!!!! It has been a fun journey this past year with very interesting moments. I love your blog and sense of fun!

    xo

  3. K. Trainor Says:

    Congrats, my dear! Looking forward to many more posts to come. 😀

  4. Wendy Says:

    Congrats on a year!!

  5. Rachel Says:

    HOORAY!! I must admit that when I first read your blog, I was so envious at how awesome of a blogger you were! I thought you had been blogging for YEARS! You were practically a pro! 🙂

    So glad to know you. I really feel better for knowing you…

  6. Sharane Says:

    Happy Blogoversary!!!! I love your blog! Love your pics from Christmas. The one of Kenny and the Wii is priceless! Also, I can’t believe it wasn’t you that did the 12 days of Christmas for us way back when! This whole time I thought it was you! Thanks so much for helping my sister by delivering the goods to our door! You were such a great neighbor! 🙂

    -Sharane 🙂

  7. kweenmama Says:

    Happy Blogoversary! Mine is coming up in February. I’m like Rachel…when I first started reading your blog I thought you’d been at it for a long time. Some people are SO talented. I am green with envy!


Leave a Reply

