Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

How’d You Get Here? January 8, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kemi @ 8:21 pm

     As I’ve pondered my blog-overesary (trust me, I’m getting as much mileage out of that occasion as I possibly can) this week, I’ve wondered a lot about where my readers came from.  A year ago, I felt lucky to have ten or twenty visitors each day.  I think my daily average was 8.  Some horribly embarrassing days there were NONE.  Now my average is 45-ish, and while I can account for some visitors based on google searches and track others through their feed readers, it doesn’t account for everyone.  (Could I possibly have LURKERS?  ME?!?!?!)

 

     So, here’s the question I’d like to pose to my readers:  (And I beg you to answer them!)

1.  How did you find my blog?

2.  Do you remember the first post you commented on?

3.  What keeps you coming back?

 

     That’s all, really.  Just wondering. 

 

     No matter what brought you here, or how often you visit, I’m very glad you continue to stop by.   😀

 

15 Responses to “How’d You Get Here?”

  1. Zen Says:

    I don’t comment a lot so I guess I’m a lurker. A regular lurker. I check in once a day or so. Okay sometimes more, if I’m bored. 🙂
    I think I found your blog through Twilight. As for why I read it, well, honey, you write well dontcha know 🙂 You make ordinary things interesting, and you’re funny. In a ‘ha-ha’ sort of way, not in a Jim sort of way. So keep up the good work. I’ll be lurking on the About page.

  2. lifeofdi Says:

    So I just went back in my comments log, and I found you because you found me! You commented on one of my weight rants.

    And this was my first comment for you! I just went back and found it. https://kemilikechemistry.wordpress.com/2008/04/15/what-season-are-we-in/#comments

    I keep coming back because you’re very funny. I think our lives are very different, yet at the same time, you write in a way that draws me in and keeps me interested.

  3. Kemi Says:

    Hi Zen! I see now how you found me on Twitter. 😀 I’m glad you did. Thanks for commenting, the writing complement, and the Jim joke– it had me laughing out loud. 😉

    Di- I remember commenting on your post. I think I found you by blog-surfing, or maybe tag-surfing, and I related so much to what you wrote! I’m glad you didn’t think I was a total idiot to comment on a stranger’s sensitive post. And the blog-stalking thing goes both ways. *evil grin*

  4. Kemi, I just checked your first post and it looks like I may have been the first person to comment. I subscribe to your blog through wordpress and read every time you write an entry. I just like you a lot!

  5. High hopes Says:

    I followed you around the internet! You make me laugh andI enjoy reading your blog. Happy bloggoversary!

  6. Meredith McIlrath Says:

    Thanks for leaving a comment on our blog! I substituted Hannah’s class once and she is a doll! It’s nice to know the reasons behind Benjamin’s… distress. (?). I wasn’t really told anything, and was wondering what in the world to do on Sunday!! After handing him off to his dad, Brother Homer told me he’s been struggling for a while (which made me feel a little less like a bad teacher!! 🙂 The kids are adorable, but I’ve never taught an age group so young, and didn’t realize that the attention span is pretty darn short. Any ideas?! Thanks!!! And your blog is adorable!

  7. kspin Says:

    I think I also found you after a comment on my blog. In fact, it may have been the apron post. Scary that I just sent that out today…doh! 🙂 I guess I come back often because we have similar roots. That’s always nice when other’s “get you”.

    Happy Bloggiversary!

  8. kweenmama Says:

    I think my first comment on your blog was on your May Enrichment post. How did I find you??? I think I was blog surfing. I’m pretty sure I found you first.

    I think that is how it all happened. It’s too hard for me to remember. I’m getting old, don’t ya know?!

  9. Marci Says:

    It’s just me. I don’t remember how I found your blog -facebook, maybe? Anyway, this is way better then trying to catch up in the Pediatrician’s office with sick kids everywhere. You know I love you, that’s why I stalk you…

  10. Kemi Says:

    FW- ditto. 🙂 Yours was one of the first blogs I read, after that strange and terrible time we experienced together. I loved your insight and wisdom. Still do. 🙂

    HH- We have been through a lot together, eh? *snort*
    Thanks for continuing to follow me around. I’ll try to keep both of us out of trouble. 😉 I’m so happy to call you friend!

    Meredith, thank you for stopping by. I hope you’ll be back to visit. I look forward to knowing you better, and I hope Primary improves. I’ll leave more ideas on your blog, which I love, love, LOVE.

    kspin– PLEASE tell me my first comment wasn’t on your apron giveaway post… I will just die of shame. The first post I read on your blog was “Why Can’t We Be Friends?” on March 16 (I went back and looked!), and as far as I can tell, my first comment was on your April cards post.
    Whew! I feel so much better. And I do “get” you. 😀

    Kween– I think we may have found each other through Kelly’s blog. If I’m wrong, well, I’m just glad we found each other. Your posts are like salve to a mother’s ragged soul. And isn’t it funny that we connected by chance over the internet, when we live less than 15 minutes away from each other?

    Marci- I was so happy to find you on Facebook. Or did you find me? Anyway, it was so much fun to reconnect. I had been waiting for you to join for AGES! 🙂
    Oh, and the stalking goes both ways, babe… 🙂

  11. Mindy Says:

    Kemi, I just found you. I’ve read one post and I already know I love it. Love the style, love the wit, love you…love it. Facebook rules. I think it might take me a couple days to look at all the goodies you’ve got on here. It’s a good thing I don’t have anything else to do. 😉 Love that laundry.

  12. Kemi Says:

    Mindy, I am flattered and awed that you found your way to my blog. I’d like to know your secret, because when MY babies were two months old, I was a mess. (Heck, now that my baby is three years old, I’m worse than ever!)

    I hope my blog doesn’t disappoint. I mean, it’s not an AP packet full of nursery rhymes… 😀

  13. K. Trainor Says:

    I didn’t know there was going to be a quiz. *deer in headlights stare*

    I’m thinking I found you through either Joy or Kweenmama’s blog, although I can’t be sure. I don’t remember the first post I commented on, but shortly thereafter you wrote something about everyone mispronouncing your name. I remember, because I found that odd. How else would you pronounce Kemi besides Kemi-rhymes-with-Hemi? 😀 I come back because you’re a talented writer and a lot of fun, silly!

  14. Kemi Says:

    Hee, Kelly. I think I found you first, because I was blog surfing. Two posts really stick out– the field trip with your daughter and some butt song (?) and hairy grown-up nursing nipples. (Darn– there goes my friendly “G” rating…)

    Of course, my favorite post EVER was in response to your hag hairs rant, when I unleashed my inner songwriter and pure magic came out.

  15. Rachel Says:

    Kemi–how did I find you? Well, I think you left a comment on my blog first–finding it through someone else maybe? Or was it me? I don’t know…

    Either way, one of the first posts I ever read of yours was you being upset at Kenny for not coming home so you could go to enrichment. I was SO impressed with your honesty…and everything you said drew me in from then on out.

    I keep coming back because, hey, it’s you! Doesn’t get much better!! And I sure love ya!!!


Leave a Reply

