Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

The Transformation Is (Almost?) Complete January 17, 2009

Filed under: motherhood,The Looney Bin — Kemi @ 8:55 pm

     We were sitting at the table tonight and the kids were picking their jobs for next week.  After the last stick was pulled and the last job written on the job chart, I looked up and noticed that two bowls were still on the table, left there from tonight’s dinner.

 

     “Kendra and Anthony,”  I said, “take your bowls and put them in the sink.”

 

     Only, it wasn’t my voice that came out. 

 

     It was my mom’s.

 

     Not in an oh, that sounds just like something she’d say sort of way, but in a “Holy CRAP, is my mom using me as some sort of ventriloquist’s dummy?” kind of thing.  I almost clapped both hands over my mouth, and I did turn around to see if she was behind me, saying the exact same words at the exact same time.

 

     Nope.

 

     It was me.

 

     Don’t get me wrong– I love my mom.  I adore her.  We are the best of friends.  It’s just that sometimes I feel like a teenager with cool nieces and nephews, rather than a mother.  Or like I’m babysitting for a really extended period of time.  You know, because I’m Kemi, and I’m a mom, sure, but my mom?  SHE’S the mom.  Apparently, time marches on and I am stepping into her role not only physically, but now vocally as well.

 

     I am freaking out.

 

     Hold me.

 

 

10 Responses to “The Transformation Is (Almost?) Complete”

  1. Rachel Says:

    haha!! Kemi. You make me laugh. I am hoping I still have a few years left before my transformation is complete…oh gosh, who am I kidding??? I am pretty much there already…

  2. Wendy Says:

    Hee Hee! Gotta love when reality kicks you in the butt!!

  3. Mindy Says:

    I did the same thing recently. Ha Ha…that is so funny. It feels like last week that I went baby-sitting for the first time thinking I was so old. Now I’m just so old and baby-sitting 5 kids every day. Good times.

  4. High Hopes Says:

    I’ve heard my mom’s voice come out of my mouth and then look at the dh and say “Man that is scary I sound like my mom.” Then he shivers and squirms and leaves the room. Lets just say my dad is easier going than my mom is.

  5. High hopes Says:

    I heard my mom’s voice last night when I was trying to get my 11 year old to do some chores last night.

  6. kweenmama Says:

    I hear my mom’s voice come out of me when I am talking with my sisters on the phone. What’s up with that???

  7. Meredith Says:

    That’s funny. Oh, and I guess we can be friends, but only if you let me mock your Olan Mills pictures. Actually, all of our pictures growing up were done there. I think I’m going to post them, actually. There’s some real gems.

  8. gr8tful Says:

    That is so funny! I think ALL moms end up hearing their mom’s voice at sometime or another. I know I have heard it!

    HUGS to you!!

  9. Goldie Says:

    I KNOW!!! I say some of the GOOFY stuff that I used to HATE hearing her say. It is just hard-wired into my brain.

    I am still not used to the fact that I am the mom now, either. When I fill out my kids school forms and there is a space that says “MOTHER” I almost write MY MOM’S name in EVERY TIME.

  10. High Hopes Says:

    Did any of your mom’s ever do this to you, when there was some dirt on your face or some other mysterious spot, she would moisten her finger or a kleenex in her mouth and then wipe the offending spot of. Ewwwww! That was before the advent of pocket pouches of diaper wipes or if we weren’t near any water. *shiver* I used to hate that when she did that.


Leave a Reply

