Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

I Want… More Hours in a Day February 2, 2009

Filed under: homemaking,The Looney Bin — Kemi @ 9:30 pm

     I started my day at 4:30 AM this morning, when my sister dropped Abbie off on her way to work.

 

     My day started again when my alarm went off at 6:30 AM.  (I snoozed until 7:00.  Bad, bad Kemi.)  I got up, threw a load of laundry in the washer, and did my Wii Fit training.  Then I jumped in the shower, made scrambled eggs, got Alex and Kendra off to school and fed Abbie.  (She loves eggs.  It was a good morning meal.)

 

     I emptied the dishwasher and re-loaded it, gathered up the last (hopefully) of the Christmas decorations and put them in the garage, played “story time” with Hannah and Anthony, put Abbie down for a nap, read two days’ worth of newspapers, started another load of laundry, and put the boys’ clean clothes away.

 

     After that I spent some one-on-one time with Hannah working in her Kindergarten readiness workbooks (we call it “Preschool”), where she learned how to write the numbers 1-10, except for 8, which she gave up on after dozens of failed attempts.   Look Mommy!  I cheated!  It’s a snowman eight, but it’s still eight. *giggle*

 

     We peeled carrots and cut them up for snacks.  We got out some hamburger to thaw for dinner.  We colored.  We sang.  We hugged.  We enjoyed being together.

 

     I made lunch, got Kenny out the door to work, and decided to start on the taxes.  (I swear, if Kenny asks “Did you get the taxes done today?  No?  How come?” one more time, we’ll be filing them rectally.)  I got everything done up to the point of deductions, and I am celebrating– CELEBRATING– the fact that I dropped both businesses last year and have nothing extra to claim.  No home office to figure, no inventory to count, no extra 1099’s…  it’s fabulous.

 

     I had a nice chat with my mom this afternoon, when she dropped by in the middle of her errands.  I put my kids down for a nap (and of course, Anthony woke Abbie up with his wailing), fed Abbie, threw in another load of laundry and picked up some more stuff in the living room.

 

     I spent a brief time online (REALLY brief for me), checking blogs and chatting on Facebook, but then dinner needed to be made and Kristi came to get Abbie.  We ate, and then read scriptures together while dessert cooked.  Everyone got into their pajamas, and then we (they) ate warm, delicious pear crisp while we (I) read from our read-aloud novel, “Wait ‘Til Helen Comes”. 

 

     Then I put the kids to bed, folded up some towels, checked homework, and sat down to blog.

 

     If I had more hours in today, I might have gotten the kitchen cleaned and the dishwasher emptied and reloaded.  I might have done another load of laundry.  I may have carried down the last of the food storage, and cleared off the top of my piano.

 

     As it is, though, I’m very happy with what I accomplished.  I haven’t had a day this productive in a long, loooooong time.  The funny part is, I still have energy.  I could keep going if my husband wasn’t sitting on the couch, waiting for me to join him for some together-time.  (Just us and the DVR…  sigh)  (Oooh, but Heroes is back on tonight.  So is Medium.  YAY!)

 

     So, there’s always tomorrow, with a new to-do list and a new 24 hours.

 

     Bring it on. 

 

     I’m ready.

 

 

5 Responses to “I Want… More Hours in a Day”

  1. Rachel Says:

    Sigh–wow–you sound SO productive. I had just as many hours and didn’t nearly accomplish what you did…

    but today is a new day, right?

  2. lifeofdi Says:

    I liked that book. Super scary, but nice enough ending that it didn’t leave you scared.

    You are superwoman Kemi!

  3. High Hopes Says:

    Fluffing Kemi’s superwoman cape! OMgosh you did so much in one day. I find it hard just getting the basics done after working, dinner and homework. Good for you!

  4. kweenmama Says:

    I’ve found that listing every thing I get done during the day, like you have in this post, is very therapeutic. It helps me to see that my day HASN’T been a waste. And I like that you include the interactions you had with your kids. Those are the most important things anyway. Dishes can wait. The kids won’t be there forever.

  5. Kemi Says:

    The problem is, my Mondays start off with a bang, and then by Friday, I’m lucky to get out of my pajamas. 🙂

    Today? the laundry is still in the washer after 12 hours.

    Also, it should be noted that when I sat down on the couch, I was asleep in five minutes. So much for “together-time”. And the extra energy.

    😀


Leave a Reply

