Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

“It’s a Major Award!” February 12, 2009

Filed under: Kemi,meme — Kemi @ 1:58 pm

I won this award!

 

     My wonderful, knowledgeable friend (I’ll call her Kween) from Kweenmama’s Kastle awarded me the “Fabulous Blog” award on Monday. 

 

     It really couldn’t have come on a better day. 

 

     This week is one of the busiest I’ve had in months, and I still have to get through two class parties tomorrow, plus a holiday and the kids’ extracurricular activities. (Today is the only day on the calendar with nothing scheduled, and I am taking full advantage of the break.  It’s almost two, and I am still happily clad in pajamas.)  The week wouldn’t have been so bad if I didn’t have the world’s most energetic (“I like to be naughty!”) three-year-old getting into all sorts of mischief that directly interfered with my week’s plans.  (It’s hard to make three dozen sugar cookies when said three-year-old pulls out the eggs and dumps them on the floor.  On purpose.  Or when he locks the bathroom door and pulls it shut behind him.  Or when he “sprinkles” the family room with 23 pounds of dog food.  Or when he removes his diaper during his nap and fails to tell you it’s missing, so when he wakes up, he is soaked and the sheets need to be washed…  again.  For the third time this week.)

 

     I was having one of those really bad days on Monday, and when I saw the award, it really made my day.  Thank you, Kween.  Really, thank you.  You have no idea how  much it helped.

 

The rules are as follows:

1.  Link back to the person who gave you the award

2.  Pass the award on to five other blogs that you think are FABULOUS.

3.  List 5 of your FABULOUS addictions. 

 

     I hesitate about passing the award on, not because I can’t think of five FABULOUS blogs, but because there are so many more than five.  I don’t want anyone to feel slighted.    Okay, so here’s the deal:  I am going to choose five.  I am selecting public blogs, even though there are several private ones I love, but what good is it to link to a blog that no one else can read?  I guess that’s the only rule.  Please, no one hate me.  🙂

 

1.  Memories and Mayhem  Rachel is my soulmate, in a non-romantic way.  (hee hee)  I swear, we could have been sisters, and if she lived next door, I think we’d be inseparable.  She is the queen of re-purposing, and she has ninja decorating skills.  (I just made that up.  The ninja part.  Not the decorating genius part.)  She sews, she cooks, she sings, she photographs, and she does the most amazing activities with her kids! 

She’s my girl.  🙂

 

2.  My Platypus Life  Goldie writes about her boys in an honest (painfully, at times!) and open way.  Even though our kids don’t share the same challenges, I feel like I can relate to her.  (Maybe it’s the three-year-old…  I don’t know.)  Plus, she’s really funny, and she doesn’t (seem to) take herself too seriously.  Some days I laugh, and some days I cry, but I always feel like I’ve learned something from her.  I love it.

 

3.  Life of Di  DI!!!  How did I not have you in my blogroll?  Thank goodness for Google Reader!  (And you’re there now.)

I found her while I was blog-surfing, and I blog-stalked her for a while before I was brave enough to pipe up.  I love Di’s blog because she makes me think.    She is lovely and eloquent and open-minded (hence, the thinking on my part), and she’s very gracious to those with differing opinions.  Also?  She is witty and charming, and a master at telling a whole story with few words.

 

4.  Woulda Coulda Shoulda  If the blogging universe had a goddess, I think Mir would be she.  (I also offer this award shyly, because while I’ve had a few lovely e-mail exchanges with Mir, she wouldn’t know me from a hole in the ground.  She has THAT MANY readers.)  She writes in a way that draws me in from the first line, and by the end of her posts, I am either laughing aloud or wiping away a tear.  She is, in a word, amazing.

It should also be mentioned that Mir has shiny hair and pretty, pretty shoes.  😀   (And if she ever made her way to my blog and left a comment, I’d probably wet myself.  We are totally in separate leagues.)

 

5.  Loralee’s Looney Tunes  Not for the faint of heart (by my standards, several posts rate a PG-13, and some R, due to language), but an achingly honest portrayal of life.  When she’s feeling silly, Loralee’s posts leave me giggling, and when she’s not, they leave me in tears.  I am grateful I haven’t had her experiences in life, but by reading about them, I feel I am better equipped to offer sympathy and compassion to those who have. 

 

     So there you have it.  My five “fabulous” blogs.  I hope you’ll drop by to check them out.

 

 

 

     As for my five FABULOUS addictions (that is such an ugly word)…

 

1.  My kids.  They are like drugs.  They make me high, they bring me down (sometimes in the same moment!), and they are what I reach for when I need to feel better.  They are the last thing I look at before I go to bed, and the first thing I peek at when I wake up.  I feel anxious when I don’t have them (and sometimes when I do).  All I ever wanted to be was a mother.

 

2.  Facebook/Blogging.  It takes up way too much of my time, but I have really enjoyed strengthening current friendships and rekindling old ones.  I haven’t been on much in the last few weeks, and I really miss it.  I love feeling connected to people.

 

3.  Reading.  I have always been a reader.  I love starting a new book, and if it’s a good one, I get sucked into the story and lose myself.  When I was younger, I loved going to the library (still do!) to check out a stack of books.  I’d take them into the back yard, curl up on the hammock, and read my summers away.  My mom used to punish me by grounding me from books.  (Luckily, I didn’t get into trouble that often…)

 

4.  Music.  I love music.  I love playing the piano, listening to the radio, browsing the selections on i-tunes…  Music speaks to my heart.  It makes me feel complete.

 

5.  Sleep.  Probably not an addiction, but when you’re the mom of four young kids (or kids of any age, for that matter!), sleep is a precious thing that you are always running short on.  I try to keep moving, because I know that if I stop, I will most likely fall asleep.

 

 

     Kween, thanks again for this award.  I display it with pride.

 

8 Responses to ““It’s a Major Award!””

  1. Rachel Says:

    awwww….so sweet of you! Thanks so much for this special award! BLUSHING, BLUSHING at your kind words! Goodness!!! 🙂 Thanks a billion! I am so glad to know you!!!

  2. kweenmama Says:

    So glad I made your day. Your blog deserves the award, I always enjoy reading your posts.

    I used to read my summers away, too, when I was younger. What I wouldn’t do to have time like that again! 🙂

  3. lifeofdi Says:

    Thanks Kemi. I’m so glad you found me because I love reading your opinions on things. I wish I knew you in the real world because you seem like one of the cooler people I know. You’re a great storyteller and awesome mom and all around cool person! hoorah!

  4. Sharane Says:

    CoNgRaTs on the award! Your blog Is FaBuLoUs! I love reading what is going on with you and you always portray it in a HuMoRoUs way. I really miss you! There is a house for SaLe on our street! 🙂

  5. Mir Says:

    *handing you an adult diaper*

    Thank you so much, Kemi. You’re too kind. 🙂

  6. Goldie Says:

    kemi, Thank you SOOO much for this kind award and especially the kind comments. And BTW, I USUALLY don’t take myself too seriously 😉

    i apologize for not commenting sooner. I live in a perpetual state of “catching up” ! now i just need to catch up on posting my awards…

  7. Goldie Says:

    PS, LOVE the post title. that movie ROCKS! except when my poor parents ended up eating at a CHINESE restaurant this past Christmas Day b/c my husband had the Flu. Now it is too painfully familiar.

    and i love your blog too, btw. i learn so much about flexibility and creativity & multi-tasking. you inspire me.


Leave a Reply

