Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

What a way to start the day! February 17, 2009

Filed under: parenting — Kemi @ 9:15 am

     I almost hit a kid today.

 

     I was dropping my kids off at school, and as I inched my way forward out of the drop-off lane, a mom pulled up to my left, the front of her van jutting halfway into the cross-walk.  I waited for her kids to exit from the right side, toward the school, but the door didn’t open.  I idled my way forward, imagining some small bodies suddenly hurtling out of her side door and into my lane.

 

     Suddenly, a small voice in my head yelled, “STOP!” 

 

     Without even thinking, I slammed my foot on the break hard enough to throw me forward.  I missed one of her kids by an inch, if not less.  She was letting them out on the left, rather than the right, and because she was parked over the cross-walk, I had no view of her kids until they had passed the front of her van completely.

 

     Neither mom nor kids noticed.

 

     Me, on the other hand?  I am shaking so hard I can hardly type.

 

5 Responses to “What a way to start the day!”

  1. Marci Says:

    After reading that, I’m shaking a little bit too. Good thing you were “listening”!
    Now go have some chocolate because that will calm your nerves. At least it works for me 🙂

  2. Rachel Says:

    i AM SO GLAD THINGS WORKED OUT! That would have been terrible. Amazing they didn’t notice!! Probably would have scared the bajeebies out of them too!

  3. kweenmama Says:

    That little voice has helped me many times. I’m so glad nothing serious happened. How scary!

  4. Zen Says:

    Scary! Thank God for intuition! 🙂


Leave a Reply

