Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Stay tuned for today’s post… coming tomorrow! February 19, 2009

Filed under: motherhood — Kemi @ 3:39 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

     Because I happily spent my afternoon catching up with a good friend on Facebook (*waving to Sharane*), the post I had bouncing around my head will have to bounce around a little bit longer.  The kids are on their way home from school, there will be homework, and we are moving our FHE visit to the aquarium to tonight, thanks to my little fainting spell on Tuesday, so I won’t have time to hammer out my post tonight.

 

     Oh, and we got our state Income Tax return back today, so we’re going out to dinner after the aquarium.  (It has been AGES since we’ve gone to a real restaurant that doesn’t have a kids-eat-free-on-Tuesdays promotion.  Acutally, it’s been a while since we’ve been to one of those, too.  My point is, we’re eating OUT.  I can’t wait!)   😀

 

     This post actually does tie in a little bit to what I’ve been mulling over for the past few weeks, and it all has to do with simplicity.  Motherhood and simplicity.  (Is that sort of like an oxymoron?)

 

     What are your thoughts about those two words?  I’m interested.  Motherhood.  Simplicity.

 

     I can’t wait to read your responses.  (Please, let there be responses.)

 

     See you tomorrow.  I’m off to pet some Manta Rays.

 

     (And eat in a REAL restaurant.  Did I mention that part?)

 

6 Responses to “Stay tuned for today’s post… coming tomorrow!”

  1. kweenmama Says:

    My son loves the acquarium! Have fun going out to eat!

    As far as motherhood and simplicity…Hmmmm…
    I have a sign on my bedroom mirror that says “simplify.” I try to keep it in mind as I go about my day. With six teens and a 9 year old, I almost feel I HAVE to simplify things, otherwise I would go crazy. I always try to keep parties simple. I’m big on easy meals. I see no reason to make things more complicated or harder than they have to be.

    We are going to our Moab condo this weekend to clean it before a renter comes in on Sunday night. The meals I have planned for the weekend are VERY simple, and will be easy to pack. Again, why make things more difficult than they have to be?

    This was a rambling response…but a SIMPLE one! 🙂

  2. Marci Says:

    With my first child, I was One Of Those Moms. She cried, I picked her up. She coughed at night, I shot out of bed. I kept my house spotlessly clean, my laundry and scrapbooks were caught up, and I was able to get enough sleep (I slept when she slept). Fast forward to five kids 9 and under: my new policy is “let them cry a little, it’s good for them”, coughing only means that they are building their immune system, laundry is eternal, and forget about sleep.
    I decided that fish sticks count for dinner, reading a book is better then cleaning a room, and laughing with my kids is much better then getting after them for trivial things (you know, like flushing toy cars down the toilet and drawing on the couch cushions with a Sharpie).
    Even though it’s taken me a while, I have learned simplicity has helped me be a better mom. This time is so fleeting, why complicate it? Kids think everything is wonderful and I think it’s a good idea to take a page out of their book.
    Thanks for making me think about this.

  3. Rachel Says:

    SIMPLY SPLENDID!!! What a wonderful night! May you enjoy every single second…

    can’t wait to hear all about it!

  4. I’m so glad you’re feeling better, Kemi! Have a great night! You won’t have to do dishes, you lucky duck!

  5. chemistry Says:

    Interesting Read! Very detailed blog.
    Thanks for sharing

  6. gr8tful Says:

    Hi there dear lady!!! We are eating OUT too, but we are brining it home. We are having PIZZA from Pizza Hut. We love pizza and it keeps me from cooking, which is always a plus!! Come visit my “Coffee House”!


Leave a Reply

