Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Prayers, please. February 23, 2009

Filed under: Abbie — Kemi @ 1:10 am
Tags: ,

     For all of my readers who are the praying kind, I’m asking for your help today.

 

     My sister Kristi is going back to court this morning to request permanent custody of her darling daughter Abbie, and to work out some other issues that have come up since the temporary orders were put into place last April.  The past ten months have been very rough on my family, and we’re hoping the commissioner will take the steps necessary to keep everyone safe from the abuse, the threats, the negligence and the immature antics of Kristi’s ex and Abbie’s dad, Jim.

 

     Thank you.

 

9 Responses to “Prayers, please.”

  1. Zen Says:

    I’ll light a candle for you and yours. I’m sure it’ll turn out well.

  2. lifeofdi Says:

    I can’t imagine going through that. It must be so emotionally draining and scary to not know what is happening with your child. I am impressed every time I read about your sister. It sounds like she’s gone through a lot and is still holding strong.

    I hope the court sees that…

  3. Goldie Says:

    saying a prayer right now. how incredibly difficult & sad…

  4. Kemi Says:

    We got back from court a few hours ago, and I just wanted to say thank you so much for all your prayers and well-wishes. They helped so much!

    Kristi got most everything she was asking for, and was very graceful about giving in on some minor issues.

    The commissioner was able to see first-hand the control and anger issues Jim has after he exploded in rage (verbally, not literally) during her ruling. He was shaking with fury and the veins on his neck were visible from across the room. I knew he could only keep up his act for so long, and today was the final curtain call.

    Abbie will continue to remain in my care while my sister works, and my home will continue to be the location for all custody exchanges.

    Jim will get his overnights, but he is limited to twelve over the next four months, when his work schedule changes and they have to go back for final ruling. (We had so hoped it would be over today, but at least there is an end in sight.)

    It was a really great day, and we all feel very strongly that the commissioner was acting in the best interests of Abbie, rather than “Jim’s rights as a father” (a phrase that we heard repeatedly), or even Kristi’s, as the mother and custodial parent. Well, except for Jim. He wasn’t happy. Not at all.

    He even called me ugly. (Boo hoo.) 😀

  5. Jennifer Says:

    I am so glad everything turned out ok…Im sorry it isnt over yet but soon enough. You are a very sweet and caring person to put yourself in the middle of this mess..Youll be totally blessed for it though…and you are not ugly. Love you girlie

  6. K. Trainor Says:

    I agree with everything Jennifer said. So glad there’s an end in sight. I hope one day he realizes this is the best thing for Abbie and makes it a more civil situation. Big hugs to you and your sister, Kemi.

  7. Sparky Says:

    So glad that Kristi got a break today. Good for her for being somewhat nice to el Jerk. Uh, hey, Jim! Ugly IS as Ugly DOES. Take a good long look in the mirror sometime. Kemi is a rock with strengths you have not.

  8. kweenmama Says:

    He called you ugly? Is he really that immature? Oh my, Kristi should be sooo glad to be done with him. I’m glad she got most of what she was hoping for. And good luck with the next court appearance.

  9. zenbiscuit Says:

    Wow. 😐 Jim really is Mr Sophisticated isn’t he? Glad it went well, though.


Leave a Reply

