Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Mondays March 2, 2009

Filed under: homemaking,kids,The Looney Bin — Kemi @ 9:40 pm
Tags: ,

     I bet you thought this was going to be a post about how I hate Mondays, and how getting through one is cause for major celebration.

 

     Ha ha HA!  You thought wrong.  (Well, partly.  Getting through one IS a cause for celebration, but we’ll get to that in a minute.)

 

     I absolutely LOVE Mondays.  I didn’t used to, but something has changed in the past year that makes me giddy with anticipation when Sunday night rolls around.  I have to attribute a lot of my new attitude to this post, written by my lovely and eloquent friend Mrs. Metaphor.  Suddenly, what used to be Monday  turned into M!O!N!D!A!Y!!!  A new week!  A clean start!  Something to look forward to!

 

     I’ll let you in on a little secret– I get more done on Mondays that I do on the other six days of the week… combined.  I make a weekly schedule every Sunday evening, and I take great joy in highlighting each task after I’ve completed it.  Mondays always look so nice and colorful!  (It’s the end of the week where I run out of steam and only get to mark off the basics.  🙂 )  Mondays are my redemption.  Mondays are the days when I think, “This week, I’m going to be different!  This week is going to be GREAT!”  And you know what?  I am.  And they are.

 

     And so I celebrate them.

 

     My hairdresser once told me she tackled ALL of her household duties on Monday, leaving her free to work Tuesday, Friday and Saturday, and using Wednesday and Friday as play days.  At the time, I thought she was insane, because why would you do that to yourself deliberately?  Now I wonder if Mondays are *her* days, too. 

 

     This morning, I celebrated Monday by stripping my bed and making it with clean sheets and lighter blankets.  I also scrubbed the toilets and sinks.  Then I spent some time with Hannah and Anthony, working on “pre-school” activities and reading stories.  After our book cuddles, Anthony and I took a brief nap on the couch, while Hannah played on the computer with her dad.  We ate lunch, the kids went down for a nap (ALWAYS a cause for celebration!), and Kenny left for work.  I made a loaf of bread from scratch, and while it was rising, I spent a little time online. 

 

     This afternoon, when Alex and Kendra got home from school, we celebrated Monday by working on homework, talking about their day at school, doing chores together, having snacks, and building a fort out of blankets under the old kitchen table.  (Smart-boy Alex built his over the heating vent, so his was warm AND private.)  We had a great dinner– YUMMY dilly bread!– and followed it up with scripture reading and a dish of ice cream.  (MAJOR cause for celebration.)

 

     Man, I LOVED today.  I can’t wait for Monday to come around next week.  In the meantime, I’ll make do with Tuesday. 

 

     I absolutely LOVE Tuesdays.  Tuesdays are volunteering at the school, and visiting teaching, and Kenny’s day off, and Family Home Evening.  Tuesdays are the BEST!   😀 

 

     (Boy, I can be obnoxious!)  (But I’m also being sincere.)

 

     Maybe it has less to do with the actual days of the week and more to do with the activities I choose to fill them with.  Either way, I’m always happy to wake up to a new day. 

 

     Even if it means I wake up at 4:30 AM with my niece, Abbie…

 

4 Responses to “Mondays”

  1. Rachel Says:

    What a fun, fresh perspective! I love how you think!

  2. kweenmama Says:

    I love the activities you are filling your day with. You won’t regret the time you are spending with your family. Trust me.

  3. High Hopes Says:

    I haven’t been thrilled with Friday’s or Monday’s since about last November. In the industry my hubby works in these days seem to be the days that lay off notices, cuts and other such nasty things are dropped. So I prefer Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursdays myself.


Leave a Reply

