Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Sisters, sisters, never were there such devoted sisters… March 15, 2009

Filed under: Hannah,Kendra,Living the Gospel,parenting — Kemi @ 9:05 pm
Tags: , , , ,

     Kendra has been sick since Friday night.  She caught some sort of flu bug and then vomited for the next 18 hours.  She spent the better part of two days on the couch, watching movies, begging for sustenance, and making frequent trips to the bathroom.

 

     In short, she’s been absolutely miserable.

 

     She napped for a few hours on Saturday evening, and when she woke up, she came out with a sleepy smile and said, “I can’t believe I made it through the night!”  The poor girl was devastated to know that it wasn’t 8:47 AM on Sunday morning, but 8:47 PM on Saturday night, and she’d only been sleeping for two hours.

 

     The look on her face was priceless.

 

     She’s doing much better today.  She hasn’t thrown up since last night, and she even managed to eat a very little amount.  Her biggest complaint is feeling weak and extremely sore, which is to be expected after you turn your insides out.

 

     After I tucked the kids in, Kenny and I started watching “Grey’s Anatomy” on the computer.  He heard a noise and turned around to find Hannah crouched under the kitchen table.  We coaxed her out and asked why she was up.  Her little face crinkled up and she wailed, “I hate it when Kendra’s sick!”  After a few hugs and some encouragement, she continued, “I just don’t want anything to happen to her.”

 

     I reassured her that Kendra would be just fine.  I also asked why was so worried about something happening to her sister.

 

     “Because if she isn’t there, I wouldn’t have anyone else to talk to, and stuff!” she replied, and burst into tears again.

 

     Kenny reminded her that she prayed for Kendra to get better, and she just needed to have faith and wait for that to happen.  “It’s already happening,” he reminded her.  I suggested that she go back and say a prayer for herself, and to ask that she could get some rest and not be so worried.  She agreed to try it, and after another round of hugs and some drying of tears, she scampered off to bed.

 

     About thirty minutes later, the show ended and I went to check on the kids.  They were all sound asleep, except for Hannah.  She bounded out of bed to come and hug me.  “Thank you so much for telling me what to say in my prayer,” she told me, as she threw her arms around my legs.  “I feel so much better now!  You are the best mommy in the whole world!”

 

     I don’t know if I can hold a candle to that sweet little sister.  She makes my heart happy.

 

7 Responses to “Sisters, sisters, never were there such devoted sisters…”

  1. Meredith McIlrath Says:

    That is too cute. She really is such a sweetheart! She always comes and talks to me when she gets to primary. I love it!

  2. kspin Says:

    What a little sweety. Whoever said you learn the most by listening to your children is absolutely right! Cute…

  3. long in the tooth Says:

    Wow! I hope Kendra is on the mend and that none of the other kids get ‘the bug’. Hugs to you sweetie!

  4. High hopes Says:

    I dunno where the long in the tooth thing came from, weird, maybe my computer figured out I was feeling old today??

  5. kweenmama Says:

    I love the simple faith of kids. I’ve often suggested prayer to my kids when they are worried about something. I think it is cute that she was so worried about her sister.

  6. Rachel Says:

    AWWWWW!!! That just is the sweetest thing ever!!!

    Hoping nobody else gets sick and it was just a fluke! 🙂 FEEL BETTER OVER THERE!@!

  7. я вот что скажу: отлично!!


Leave a Reply

