Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Leapin’ Leprechauns! What a day! March 17, 2009

Filed under: family,Holidays,kids,service — Kemi @ 10:24 pm

    

Today was a really great day.

 

     I’m not sure if the holiday had something (extra) to do with it, or it was just a really great day in general, but I have smiled most of the day, and I was sorry to put my kids to bed.  That NEVER RARELY happens.

 

     It started with waking up in a panic this morning, because I didn’t get up with my alarm.  (I blame Kenny.  It got stuffy last night, and he opened all the windows.  The fresh air and sound of birds in the early morning was lovely!  So lovely I kept hitting snooze.)  I was supposed to be at the school with Alex and Kendra at 8:55, and I opened my eyes at 8:02.  I hopped out of bed and roused the kids, and sat them at the table with a box of Lucky Charms.  (Thanks, Dad, for the St. Patrick’s Day treat!  We loved it!)  Hannah noticed my black silk pajamas and said, “Mommy, you aren’t wearing green!  That’s okay.  I won’t pinch you until you get dressed for real.”  She is such a sweetheart!

 

     After a quick (quick!) shower, I got everyone dressed in green and groomed with the long-awaited shamrock hair adornments, and we rushed out the door.  Being at the school was like wading through a sea of leprechauns, and just about as productive.  (What is it about holidays that make kids lose all focus?)  Today was one of those days where I am extra glad I don’t have to manage my own class, but can enjoy them for a short time and then leave them, not unlike grandparents with their grandchildren.

 

     After I got home, Kenny and I took Hannah and Anthony shopping for a new toilet seat.  (Ours broke this morning, and sitting on it with its one attached hinge is sort of like being on an amusement park ride.) (Hey, kids, no need to go to Disneyland this year.  Just climb up here on the potty and let’s see how dizzy you get!)  We wandered the aisles of Home Depot for almost an hour, and spent the majority of our time in the outdoor section.  We picked out a new water feature for the front garden area, as well as a new flagstone retaining wall.  The good news is, it’s only going to cost us about $650.  The bad news?  No $650.  Ah, but it was nice to dream.

 

     We made a stop at McDonald’s for Happy Meals and let the kids play for a little bit, stopped at the store for some FHE treats, and then we came home and put them down for naps.  (They were EXHAUSTED.  Great, great naps today!)  I had an hour to myself, and I used it to cross-stitch and catch up on my DVR-ed shows from January.  (Okay, one  show.  At this rate, I’ll have new shows clear through the summer, and possibly into next  season.)

 

     I took Alex to scouts, started dinner, and made green cupcakes for dessert.  Kenny decided he wanted to grill the cheese-stuffed hamburgers, so while he got the grill ready, everyone played outside in the back yard.  The kids filled a sack full of broken toys and garbage, and it was like they gave the yard a makeover.  (Lest you think we are absolute white trash, I’ll tell you that it has been windy– very windy!– this month, and only about half the garbage was ours.  On second thought, none of the garbage-garbage was ours, but I take full ownership of the broken plastic bats, handle-less shovels, cracked pails and deflated beach balls.)

 

     While we were finishing up our dinner, I asked the kids if they’d like to take some cupcakes to our neighbors.  (Better to them than to my hips, I tell you…)  They jumped at the chance, so we loaded up some plates and took them to five neighbors.  We got such a warm reception from the first house, as we were walking down the driveway, Alex grabbed my arm and said, “It just feels SO good to help people!  It feels good to make others feel good.”  It made me feel good to know that they were learning to serve others– and loving it!

 

     We finished our FHE with a rousing game of Leprechaun Bingo, with gold-wrapped Rolo candy for prizes.  Alex and Kendra CLEANED UP, so much so that I stopped rewarding them for “Bingo” after they each hit 16.  (Seriously, who gets 16 bingos in 20 minutes?  It certainly wasn’t me.  I managed four.  F-O-U-R.  Embarrassing.) 

 

     It was such a great, productive, memory-making sort of day.  As I was tucking them in, my kids told me how special today was, and even Kenny commented that it was one of the best days he’s had in a long, long time.  Today was magical, and it had very little to do with leprechauns, unless you count four little blonde ones.  Tonight I felt like I’d found a pot of gold at the end of my very own rainbow, and if I could have any wish, it would be that every day is like today.

 

     Sappy, I know.  But I’m happy.  And happy makes me sappy.

 

     I am happy that fourteen years ago today, my husband asked me to marry him.  (Not so happy about the method of proposal, mind you, but that’s a story for another day.)  I’m happy he asked, and I’m so happy I said yes!  I would have never imagined my life would bring me such joy.

 

     And, with that, I’m going to put myself to bed.  I’ve had all the happiness and joy I can handle for one day, and you’re probably ready to poke me with a sharp stick because I’m so obnoxious.  I’m warning you, though– I just might explode with rainbows and butterflies and glitter, and I won’t be held responsible for the mess.  😀

 

10 Responses to “Leapin’ Leprechauns! What a day!”

  1. kspin Says:

    You’re such a great mom! I thought I was going all out by wearing green… 😉

  2. Rachel Says:

    Dear, dear Kemi.

    I didn’t even wear green today. Brandon made the kids eggs for breakfast…nothing lucky there. No fancy shmancy green treat here.

    You rocked today!

    Glad you had a wonderful day. You totally deserved that!

  3. Goldie Says:

    this post made me feel all warm & fuzzy inside. what a wonderful creative day you had. your disneyland comment made me giggle, and I love what your son said about delivering the cupcakes!

    a friend of mine said on FB that “While we were gone a leprechaun spread glitter & shamrocks, left new books for the kids, & did a bit of mischief! The kids loved it!” I am going to try it next year.

    so glad you had a good day! hugs!

  4. Marci Says:

    What an awesome day! These are the kind of days that make the other kind of days worthwhile 🙂

  5. Meredith McIlrath Says:

    Yea for awesome days!! And thanks for the cupcakes! I took advantage of the fact the Jason wasn’t hungry and ate both of them. Delicious.

  6. High hopes Says:

    Sounds like a lovely St. Patty’s day. I hope every day is like this for you!

  7. lifeofdi Says:

    Loved reading this. And I think it’s funny we have matching anniversary’s – sort of.

    Now I want to hear the proposal story 😀

  8. kweenmama Says:

    Mentioning the anniversary of your husband’s proposal made me realize that yesterday (St. Patty’s day) was the former anniversary of my first marriage. And the really awesome thing about that is that I didn’t even once think about it being my former anniversary. It was just St. Patty’s day. Holy cow, healing has come! I used to get so sad on that day. Is it weird that I didn’t even THINK about it? If you hadn’t mentioned the anniversary of your proposal I probably still wouldn’t have realized it.

    Thanks for letting me see how far I’ve come (even though you didn’t realize you were doing that). My day yesterday was happy too…and now today is going to be even better! 😉

  9. Mindy Says:

    Nice one Kemi.
    I love those rare ‘perfect’ days.
    Glad you had such a good one. You deserve every one you get.

  10. Dirnov Says:

    Hi there,
    Thanks for article. Everytime like to read you.

    Thank you
    Dirnov


Leave a Reply

