Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Kendra Crocker March 25, 2009

     Today was the annual third-grade Wax Museum at Midvalley.  Each student picked a famous American to do a report on, and then they dressed up as that character and held a pose for 20 minutes while parents and students “toured” the displays in the gym.

 

     Today, however, there wasn’t so much pose-holding.  There was more (much more!) flopping around on chairs and waving at loved ones.  The costumes were darling, though, and you could tell the kids really got into the dressing up thing.  (I’m so grateful we don’t have to shampoo her hair six times like we did Alex’s last year!)

 

     Here is Kendra as Betty Crocker.  (Not her first choice of character, but exactly the person I imagined her being.)

 

kendra-crocker

 

 

     I really enjoyed helping her with her report.  I learned a lot about Betty Crocker.  For example, did you know she wasn’t a real person?  People were writing into [the forerunner to] General Mills with cooking questions, and they assigned some women to respond.  They picked the name “Betty” because it sounded friendly, and “Crocker” to honor a retired executive.  That was in 1921.  In 1936, Betty finally got a “face”, which was a composite portrait of the women in the Home Services department.  Her image has changed seven times since then, but she is always featured with a red jacket or sweater and a white collar.

 

     I also want to point out that the New! Improved! Betty Crocker test kitchens are over 13,000 square feet.  FIVE of my homes would fit in there, with room to spare.

 

     Where do I get a kitchen like that?

 

4 Responses to “Kendra Crocker”

  1. Lesley Says:

    She’s sooooo cute…I just learned something new. I didn’t know any of that about BC. Mason is doing a report on Spain tomorrow for the Country Fair.

  2. cowgalutah Says:

    what a fun idea. We don’t do anything like that at the school down here that I know of.

  3. SewDucky Says:

    LOL I knew all that about BC but I had to do a report on her too.

    We didn’t have to dress up tho- that’s why I was a rodeo rider in a dress circa 1880 so I could. (I also can’t ride western, just side, but that is a different topic.)

    Very cute dress up tho. I hope she had fun!

  4. kweenmama Says:

    Holy big kitchens! Can you imagine the teenage gatherings that could occur???


Leave a Reply

