Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Another year older, and wiser too (mostly) March 27, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kemi @ 1:41 pm

 

Dude.

 

Today, I have a 10-year-old.

 

Duuuuuude.

 

     I swear, it was just yesterday when I heard Dr. Later say, “Yup, he has boy parts!” and I looked into the face of my little cone-headed alien.  I had never felt such a rush of love or devotion to anything in my life, up to that point.  My life-long dream of becoming a mother had come true.

 

     I can’t believe it’s already been a year since I did a birthday tribute for him.  I can’t believe he’s in the double digits, age-wise.  I can’t believe he’s the same age as the obnoxious kids I used to teach.  (But oh, how I loved them!  Most of them.)  I can’t believe I’ve already used up half the time I get to have him here with me, under my roof, getting hugs and sharing stories and talking about things that interest him.

 

     I can’t say enough how much I love him, and how being his mother has been the most rewarding experience of my entire life.

 

     Happy Birthday, Little Man! 

 

birthday-alex

 

4 Responses to “Another year older, and wiser too (mostly)”

  1. SewDucky Says:

    Aries are great people. You should tell Alex he’s in a sign of great people: Sir Alec Guiness, Thomas Jefferson (both of whom are on my b-day) and Fergie, Mariah Carey (today) and William Shatner AND Leonard Nimoy. How cool is that we get to claim not only Obi Wan but also Captain Kirk and Spock.

  2. lifeofdi Says:

    Woah… A ten-year old, huh? I am the kitty mama of an almost one-year old. Don’t think that I believe that equates in any way, I just wanted to do the whole “I get you” thing. Even though I definitely am not on your mama level. And frankly, I doubt I ever will be. You seem like an awesome mom.

    • Kemi Says:

      You’re so sweet. With two birthdays, scouts, activity days, volunteering in two classrooms, a niece to tend and a naughty three-year-old, not one of my kids thought I was awesome this week.

      A rabid, snarling beast, perhaps…

      Still, I appreciate your confidence in me. 😀

  3. kweenmama Says:

    Hold on to him…enjoy him…it goes by so fast! My oldest is graduating in June and I am having tearful moments about it already.


Leave a Reply

