Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Nine March 29, 2009

Filed under: birthdays,Kendra — Kemi @ 8:53 pm
Tags:

     Today, Kendra is nine.  My beautiful girl, growing up so fast (too fast for my liking!), who is gracious and kind and loving, is nine.

 

     Where did the time go?

 

     I remember holding her in my arms for the first time, about an hour after she was born.  I spent my time in recovery while she was cleaned up and bathed in the nursery, and a nurse brought her to my room.  When they put her in my arms, I could hardly believe I was the mother of such a beautiful baby girl.

 

     I used to love to watch her sleep.  It was one of the rare times she let me cuddle her.  I’d pick her up out of the bassinet and cradle her in my arms, and work in all the kisses and snuggles I could get away with.

 

     Now I don’t even have to ask.  She’s always ready with a hug or a kiss.  She is such a patient big sister, and so good to her siblings.  She also has a sense of peace and calm about her that makes her mature beyond her nine years.  (If she were a Twilight vampire, she’d be Jasper!  And she’ll LOVE the comparison when she sees it.)

 

     She is growing so quickly into a beautiful young woman.  Her compassion for others is remarkable.  She is such a sweet and special girl!

 

     I love you, Kendra!  Happy Birthday!

 

kendra-birthday

 

7 Responses to “Nine”

  1. kspin Says:

    Two birthdays in a row? You are a busy lady! 🙂 Happy Birthday to your little ones!

  2. SewDucky Says:

    ROFL poor Kemi..I bet your household is LOUD with those two arguing all the time. TWO perfect people? How DO you manage?!

    • Kemi Says:

      Hee hee hee… I guess I’m a little biased.

      They are really good kids, though. They get along really well with each other, most days. (I was terrified of having two just a year apart, but it worked out very well!)

      I really lucked out with them.

      The little two and arguing? Now that’s an entirely different story…

  3. kweenmama Says:

    Wow, two birthdays in a row! Happy birthday to both kids! We don’t have any birthdays in a row, but September is our busiest month with four birthdays.

  4. Rachel Says:

    I have been so behind on blog reading…but I finally got caught up on yours! So many birthdays (and naughty dogs!!) I loved reading about your sweet kiddos. What blessings…most days. 🙂

    They are beautiful!

  5. Tami Says:

    Happy Birthday to your kids! So fun! I love celebrating birthdays.

  6. Dar Says:

    Hoping she had a wonderful birthday!

    They grow so quickly!


Leave a Reply

