Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Happy Birthday, Kenny! April 6, 2009

kenny-and-abbie

All morning, Abbie referred to Kenny as "Daddy". Yesterday, she couldn't stop running to his lap for hugs.

 

     It is my beloved’s birthday today.  He is something that rhymes with “shirty-fine”.

 

     (To read last year’s birthday post, click here.)

 

     This will be the fourteenth birthday of his we’ve celebrated together.  In his family, birthdays were no big deal.  (Rather, HIS birthdays were no big deal.)  There were even a few years where his birthday was completely forgotten, or hurriedly thrown together after dinner, and for the most part, there were no gifts.  I promised him that I’d never forget his birthday, and I’ve tried to make up for 24 years of neglect.  It was easy when we were first married.  His birthday was in the spring, and mine was in the fall.  Six months apart meant lots of time to plan. 

 

     Then we had two kids with birthdays at the end of March, and Easter gets thrown in the mix, so by the time I’ve celebrated three birthdays and a holiday, I’m pretty wiped out.

 

     (Somewhat guiltily, I’ve started referring to it as “Hell Week”.) 

 

     We celebrated Kenny’s birthday with my family last night, which is always a highlight of spring General Conference, and ate ourselves sick on tacos and seven-layer bean dip.  My mom did this really cool jello/pudding poke cake, and he got his birthday “loot”, which included “Heroes”- seasons 1 and 2, another Wii controller, some Swedish Fish and a (very!) generous gift card to Lowe’s.  (Thanks, Mom and Dad!)

 

     To keep in the theme of making each birthday-day a big deal, the kids and I will be taking cupcakes into his work (and I hope embarrassing the heck out of him, because payback is a nasty thing!) and making a(nother) birthday dinner.  Then we’ll end our night by having Family Home Evening and working to implement this weekend’s prophetic counsel.  Probably not the most exciting birthday ever, and certainly not as fun as a big party with friends, but I am hopeful that he’ll enjoy it.

 

     Probably not as much as he enjoyed this, however:

 

This was taken at Souper Salad on Alex's birthday.  He was telling the kids those stupid jokes about Ethiopians and Helen Keller, and he pulled some muscles from laughing so hard.

This was taken at Souper Salad on Alex's birthday. He was telling the kids those stupid jokes about Ethiopians and Helen Keller, and he pulled some muscles from laughing so hard. He was trying to muffle his laughter with napkins, but with no success. We were EASILY the loudest people in the restaurant. *sigh*

 

    

     I love you, honey!  You  make my life better.  Your support and encouragement keep me going on my hardest days, and your sense of humor never fails to cheer me up.  (Okay, USUALLY never fails…)   😀   You work so hard for our family, and we’re grateful to have you as a husband and father.

 

     Here’s to another “shirty-fine” years, at least. 

 

     Mwah!

 

6 Responses to “Happy Birthday, Kenny!”

  1. kweenmama Says:

    Happy shirty fine(th) birthday to Kenny!

  2. Kristi Says:

    Wow, what a cute kid there!!!! I think it’s funny she is calling Kenny “daddy!” I would laugh if she did that in front of her dad!

    Happy Birthday Kenny-son!!!

  3. SewDucky Says:

    LOL Kemi! You got a house full of Aries.

    Knowing me, and how I totally AM one, I think I’m glad my poor kid’s a Gemini.

    Happy B-day to the bunch! More perfect people in the world!

  4. Meredith McIlrath Says:

    Wow, so many birthdays around the same time! Happy b-day to Kenny!

  5. Rachel Says:

    hahaha….you crack me up! Happy birthday to every stinkin’ person in your house. (not that they are stinkin’–but this birthday week has to be overwhelming!)

    You have been crazy busy. I don’t know how you do it. 🙂

  6. lifeofdi Says:

    Hoorah! Yay for the hubs being one year older (and wiser too?)!


Leave a Reply

