Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Parks and Picnics April 7, 2009

     This afternoon, Alex played hooky from scouts and we took the family to the park for a picnic and some playground time.

 

     The weather was beautiful.  We were a little chilly sitting at the picnic table, but as soon as we moved out of the pavillion, it was perfect park weather.  The kids ran and played on the slides, and Kenny and Alex tossed a football around for about an hour.  (Alex has nearly perfected his throwing and catching techniques.  I’m amazed at his natural ability.)

 

     Anthony made a little friend, and his mom asked if we could have a playdate sometime.  She left before I could give her my contact information, though, and I feel horrible.  I hope she didn’t think it was personal.  I got sidetracked when Kendra fell off of a giant tube onto her face, neck and then back.  (She’s lucky she didn’t break something.)  The poor kid had sand in every facial orifice, not to mention a terrible abrasion over her left eye, and she got the wind knocked out of her.  By the time we got her straightened up and brushed off, the other mom was on her way to the parking lot.

 

     Maybe we’ll see her there again sometime .  *sigh*

 

     All injuries aside, we really had a wonderful time together.  On the way home, we took the “scenic” route past the Jordan River Temple and drove slowly around the grounds.  Anthony had a fit when we told him he couldn’t go inside– at least not yet– and we promised we’d go back another day when we were dressed in something nicer than shorts and sandals to let the kids walk around the outside.  I remember doing that as a kid, and I thought it was the coolest thing ever!

 

     Alex commented on how nice it felt at the temple, even being in the parking lot, and we had a nice discussion about why Kenny and I chose to be married there, and then which temple the kids would choose for themselves.  (Alex said “Draper!”, Kendra and Hannah both chose Jordan River, and Anthony wanted whatever Alex picked.  That is some big-brother worship right there.)  It all fit very nicely with our new family motto, We Love to See the Temple.

 

     It was such a nice evening!  We used to do activities like that all the time when Alex and Kendra were little, when Kenny worked at UPS during the day and was off at night.  When he switched jobs, he worked every night, and with the oldest two in school all day, there was very little family time.  When he went back to an alternating day/evening schedule, I guess we were just out of the habit and forgot to pick it up again.  We are determined to move forward, however, and we look forward to a whole spring and summer of parks and picnics.

 

     Doesn’t it sound lovely?

 

8 Responses to “Parks and Picnics”

  1. Wendy Says:

    It was such perfect weather yesterday!!!! I could take that all year long. Glad to hear you got out and enjoyed it!!

  2. High Hopes Says:

    We enjoyed the beautiful spring day on Sunday. We went out on our bicycles and had a picnic oceanside. We continued on biking for a little longer, it was so refreshing and rejuvinating!

    It sounds like you had a lovely time!

  3. K. Trainor Says:

    Glad you had fun. Ouch on that fall, though! Hope Kendra’s feeling better. :[

  4. Tami Says:

    How fun! I love days like those. Perfect family days make the struggles all worth it, I think.

  5. kweenmama Says:

    We also loved the (brief) warm weather. I miss being able to do simple family activities like that. Our teens schedules are so crazy that trying to get us all together at the same time is a major project. We DID manage to get us all together on Monday evening to go to South Towne Mall to see my son’s artwork in an Elementary school art show. I just wish we could do it more often…

  6. Rachel Says:

    That sounds SO nice! I know I am late giving this comment, but I hope you know I have been thinking of you. I wish it was me who had seen you at the park. Then we’d already have each others contact info! 🙂

  7. Jesse Says:

    Nice blog!!! That does sound lovely. I’m also a fan of picnics. I don’t have a family yet but me and my girlfriend must of been at the park with some good food and a bottle of wine every weekend last summer… sometimes we even brought our kites :O)

  8. […] After reading Kemi’s post about her family having a picnic, I’d been craving one. Which is why it was so nice to come […]


Leave a Reply

