Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Kindergarten Orientation April 16, 2009

Filed under: Hannah,school — Kemi @ 5:16 pm
Tags: ,

     Holy cow!  How has it already been a week since I last posted?

     (Oh yeah… two birthday parties, Easter and spring break.  I’ve been busy.  And I’m still trying to recover.)

 

     The highlight of THIS week (and Hannah’s entire month, at least) was yesterday’s Kindergarten Orientation.  Now, between you and me, if you’ve been to one, you’ve got it mastered, but since it was Hannah’s first time and she was DYING to go (dramatic much?), Kenny took the morning off, we left Abbie and Anthony with Grandpa, and we went over to the school together in the pouring rain.  (We would have gone anyway, even if she wasn’t so eager.  It’s a milestone.  It’s just much less fun for parents than it is for kids.) 

 

     My mom always buys the grandkids a new outfit for school that they get to wear to Orientation, and Hannah was positively giddy over her new dress.  (“Mom, I LOVE my dress!”  “Did I tell you I love my dress?”  “Can I call Grandma at school and tell her thank you for my dress again?”  “I’ve always wanted a dress with a little jacket like this.”  “I LOOOOOOOVE my dress!  Mommy, did you hear me?  I LOVE it!  Can I call Grandma?”  My head nearly exploded.)

 

     We found our seats and scanned the room for some familiar faces.  I recognized a lot of moms from my work at the school, and there were four other kids of kindergarten age from our neighborhood alone.  Hannah is extremely social and has no trouble making friends, but it will be nice for her to see her primary friends at school.

 

     The current Kindergarten classes performed a little program for us, and then it was time for Hannah to leave with the teachers and experience a very brief “Kindergarten” day.  Lucky her!  Kenny and I sat through the boring “this is what we do in Kindergarten video” (for the third time!), we listened to the secretary talk about the importance of returning the paperwork (yes, yes, I know all that), and then the school nursing supervisor told us about the immunizations and filling out the medical information cards.  To be honest, for that part, I’m glad I had heard it before, because I was so distracted by the nurse’s skin.  (She either recently returned from a verrrrry sunny vacation or she uses Oompa-Loompa-Orange foundation.  Either way, I couldn’t divert my eyes.)

 

     A few minutes later, Hannah came skipping back to us.  She wanted to know if she could go with Mrs. Hoffmann (she’s been “our” K teacher) for the rest of the day, and she was disappointed when we said no.  (This kid has been ready for school for at least a year.)  Hannah told us she ate cookies and punch, and they read “Three!  No, wait!  Four!  No, FIVE!” stories and played with blocks in the classroom.  She posed for a picture on the stage, and then she reluctantly agreed to come home with Kenny and me, on the condition that we let her come back for school, when it’s time.

 

     In September.

 

     (It’s going to be a long summer.)

 

hannah-kindergarten-orientation

 

10 Responses to “Kindergarten Orientation”

  1. kspin Says:

    What a cutie she is in her special dress! My daughter is dying to start Kindergarten too, and this will be the first year living here that I am happy for an early Aug. start date!

  2. Sharane Says:

    I have missed way too many posts! Happy Birthday to Alex, Kendra, and Kenny and Happy Easter ( all belated!). I remember how crazy this time of year was for you, yay that it’s over!
    Hannah looks so darling in her dress. That is so cute that she is so excited for school! I am a Friends junkie too ( your clip of Monica, love it!) OK I think I’m done. Oh, and I still miss you!

    -Sharane 🙂

  3. Marci Says:

    Yay for Kindergarten! I get to take Colin today, he’s very excited (and very ready for school!) I’m excited too, but why do they have to grow up so fast?

  4. Mindy Says:

    Oompa Loompa Orange Foundation….classic.
    Still giggling.

  5. Meredith McIlrath Says:

    Too cute! If only some of Hannah’s enthusiasm for school could rub off on me…

  6. kweenmama Says:

    *sniff* I miss having a kindergartner. I love how excited they are at that age–about EVERYTHING!

  7. Kristin Says:

    Hannah was so cute with Benjamin, she sat by him and made him comfortable Keith was able to leave and go to the parent meeting. Thanks Hannah for being a friend to Benjamin!

  8. High Hopes Says:

    I miss having a kindergartner too, mine will be in grade 7 next year. Now we buy dresses in the junior/missy department. Still wondering where the time went.

    Tell Miss Hannah she looked lovely in her new dress!

    *Splorf* oompa loompa orange. Now that is funny. 😛

  9. K. Trainor Says:

    Awwwww. What an adorable pic! 😀

  10. Joy Says:

    Found your blog while looking for ideas for my Kindergarten orientation. You cracked me up! I wish all my students were as eager as your Hannah is.


Leave a Reply

