Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Sunny with a chance of water balloons April 22, 2009

Water balloons     Yay! I have a [fairly] quiet minute to sit down and post!

 

     Today has been one of those days where I have been busy ALL DAY LONG, but I have nothing to show for it.  Or, I have things to show for it, but not a single one of them have to do with the million things that need to be done inside my house.  It’s enough to make my head hurt.  Truly, it is.

 

     I woke up just a little past 7:00 AM, but I forced myself to stay in bed until my alarm clock went off at 7:30.  What a waste!  I should have just gotten up.  Because I slept in, I didn’t get Kenny’s lunch made in time, so we had to take it to him.  Normally it isn’t a big deal, but I had Abbie today.  Normally SHE’S not a big deal, but I was trying to get Kenny’s lunch ready, shower, talk on the phone (Rachel, again, you made my day!  I SO needed that conversation!), get some laundry going, get some updates on my mom (who had gall bladder surgery, but she doesn’t want anyone to know, so ssssshh!), get a dinner prepared I could take to my parents, and keep the house from falling down around my ears.

 

     It was a long morning, and aside from the phone call, not a very good one.

 

     I DID get all the food stuff finished, though, and it was good to see my mom for a few minutes.  I am amazed at how quickly she is recovering.  When I had my gall bladder removed, I was in the hospital for a few days, and I couldn’t stand up straight when I got home.  She was cruising around the house upright, and eating and chatting, and it was wonderful to see her in such good spirits.  I think a lot of it was the drugs, and I think tomorrow will be tougher, but for just hours after a surgery, she seemed to be doing great.  (And again, sssssshh!  ;))

 

     When Alex and Kendra got home from school, they really wanted to play with water balloons.  (They’ve been begging me for over a week now, but it hasn’t been warm enough.)  I gave in and told them they could, but I had to mow the lawn first.  They were really good to pick up pine cones and little sticks for me, and this is the first time I can say that I actually REALLY enjoyed mowing.  Maybe it was the i-pod.  Maybe it was the excitement of accomplishing SOMETHING.  Maybe it was being outdoors in the fresh air.  Probably a little of everything.  Mowing the lawn vastly improved my mood AND my day. 

 

     (Author’s note:  I wonder how long it will take Kenny to notice?  Our yard wasn’t really overgrown, except with dandelions, although, having a yard that looks green instead of yellow should be a dead giveaway.  Still, I think it will take him four days.)

 

     I went outside and tied off water balloons for about 30 minutes, and listened to Anthony shriek when one would burst.  He didn’t care so much about getting wet as he did about his ammunition stash gradually decreasing.  The kids had a great time, and after the balloons were all gone, they moved on to the Elmo sprinkler.  I can hear them yelling as I type, and then the yelling gives way to giggles.  Occasionally a stream of water hits the front window, which tells me that someone has commandeered the sprinkler, but I am too chicken (I don’t particularly enjoy wet clothes) to venture outside.

 

     It’s dinnertime now, and they are showing no signs of fatigue.  (I think I have enough fatigue for all of us.)  I had planned to make baked potatoes for dinner, but when the temperature outside hit 85 degrees, I decided that heating up the oven for an hour was going to make us miserable.   (Us = me.)  I think we’ll have an outdoor picnic with sandwiches and fruit while the sun dries them off. 

 

     Everyone should collapse- exhausted!- into bed tonight. 

 

     I can hardly wait.  I think I’ll join them.

 

4 Responses to “Sunny with a chance of water balloons”

  1. lifeofdi Says:

    I think a mown (I don’t think that’s a word) yard and happy but tired kids are definitely something to show for it.

  2. Kristi Says:

    Sorry about the additional stress that was Abbie today.

    I’m ready to hit bed too but can’t quite seem to get myself there. Get some sleep for me!

    • Kemi Says:

      Don’t worry about it, Kristi. She was fine. I was just worried about my mama and trying to do a million things. Not a great combination for a stress-free day.

      And I hate it when she cries (screams) during her nap.

      (That would be Abbie, not Mom.) 😀

      (Although I wouldn’t want to hear Mom scream, either.)

  3. kweenmama Says:

    I actually like to mow the lawn. It is very therapeutic for me. I know…weird.


Leave a Reply

