Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

The post in which Kemi hates the economy, loves Cherry Garcia, and blows her budget. April 23, 2009

 

     I went grocery shopping today, to pick up a VERY FEW things we needed at home.  (It’s been months since I last went shopping.  I forgot how much I enjoy it, especially when the kids aren’t throwing tantrums.)

 

     I used to grocery shop at least once a week.  Kenny would stop by the store a few times a week on his way home from work.  We didn’t bat an eye about what went into the cart, and we never worried about what it was going to cost.  Spending less than $100 at the grocery store was rare.

 

     Until now.

 

     Now we are drowning, and my legs are too tired to tread water anymore.  I’m so tired of having to choose which bills to pay each month, of negotiating lesser payments, of going to bed each night dreaming of ways to stretch pennies into dollars, of the desperation I hear in my voice when I ask Kenny how much commission he earns on each new car sale, and of the dejection I can’t mask when he tells me it’s just a “mini”, which is $150.  (And there are only 4-6 “minis” each month.)  I cry grateful tears every time my sweet mom slips me $100 from her paycheck, telling me to spend it on myself, but there is no “me” spending anymore.  Minimum wage pays more than commissions, and minimum wage doesn’t even cover the mortgage.

 

     I am so, so weary.

 

     I blame you, Economy.  Which means I’m really blaming YOU, Banks, and YOU, Credit Companies.  It isn’t that the dealership is lacking for customers, although that was a problem in the beginning.  Now the customers are coming out in droves, but the banks won’t finance anyone without stellar credit or a small fortune for cash down.  What happened to the billions of dollars you were given to help stimulate the economy?  I also blame you, General Motors, for being greedy and refusing to make necessary changes until you were threatened with forced bankruptcy.  Look where that got you!  

 

     Today I had my own private rebellion.  As we walked past the freezer section, I saw the cutest, tiniest Ben & Jerry’s ice cream containers, and they were on sale for $1.  (Please, no one lecture me about how the regular size is much, MUCH less per ounce.  I couldn’t justify the $3.79, okay?  I could barely justify the $1.)  On a whim, I threw one in the cart, and then felt guilty about it all the way to checkout. 

 

     My monthly grocery bill came to $43.02, and immediately upon hearing the total, I began my mental math game:  subtracting that amount from the money we have in the bank, comparing it to the bills that are due and coming up short.  We’ve been short for at least six months, and despair is beginning to set in.  I’m not asking to be a millionaire, I’d just like to have enough income to cover all our monthly bills, with enough left over to spring for the occasional mini Cherry Garcia. 

 

     Is that really so much to ask?

 

7 Responses to “The post in which Kemi hates the economy, loves Cherry Garcia, and blows her budget.”

  1. Kristi Says:

    I’m sorry things suck so bad for you. You are welcome to “up” the price of child care if you need to. Ralph is just going to have deal with it. That’s how are things are right now and everyone is fighting to survive.

    Please let me know what I can do to help.

  2. SewDucky Says:

    Oh Kemi, I’m so sorry the economy got to you too. Big hugs.

    If there’s anything I can do, feel free to email. I’ll be happy to brainstorm with you, since I had to live this way for a long time, and sharing the misery with a friend can help.

  3. lifeofdi Says:

    And I thought I was stressed over no money. This hurts my heart…

  4. Tami Says:

    I’m sad that you have to struggle so much right now.

  5. I’m sorry that things are so difficult for you and Kenny. It must wear on both of you. Wasn’t he thinking of changing jobs? Is that still an option?

  6. Rachel Says:

    Kemi, kemi….I am so sorry…..I would bring you a million gallons of Cherry Garcia right now if I could…

    HUGS, HUGS!

  7. kweenmama Says:

    I’ve been there. It’s a story too long to tell here, but I HAVE been there.

    There is a family in our ward whose husband/father also works at a car dealership and they are struggling financially as well. The state of the economy right now is so scary.

    Have you ever thought about being a crossing guard? You would have to start out being a sub, but I would be sure to call you EVERY time I need a sub (if you do it for Sandy city). You get $10.71 per crossing (35 minutes). It’s not a bad way to bring in a little extra cash, really. And you can bring kids to any crossing except 90th south and the trax crossings. I don’t know, it’s just a suggestion on a way to bring in a little extra $$$$.


Leave a Reply

