Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

New bathroom! June 3, 2009

Filed under: homemaking — Kemi @ 11:02 pm

     I had a crazy, busy, fun day today, in which I neglected to do anything productive, but found important ways to share my time with people I love.  The best part of the day was watching Ella Enchanted with my kids on our new couch, where we all fit and no one had to sit on the floor or wiggle around on my lap.  It was heavenly! 

 

     Now that the kids are in bed, I’m too tired to do a “real” post, so I’m going to take the advice of the comedian on my NaBloPoMo badge below and not overthink things.  Since it’s clean and there are no more boxes to unpack in it, I will unveil my new bathroom to you.  I think this is my favorite room.  Seriously.  I might just paint my bedroom this color.

 

For comparison purposes, here’s the old, yucky bathroom:

 

SinkToilet

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And here’s the new, pretty, fresh, clean bathroom:

 

 

New bathroom sink

Brand new sink (that is NOT a laminate kitchen one), brand new vanity (they broke the old one pulling it out), new faucets, brand new paint job, brand new sheet rock, and NO wood paneling.  (Hallelujah!)

 

 

New bathroom

New vinyl flooring, new towel rack and toilet paper dispenser, new tile on the bottom of the shower, new paint and, most importantly, NO WOOD PANELING.

 

     The color we picked is called “Geyser”, and it is the softest, palest blue.  (It looks dark in this picture because the lighting is terrible.)  Austin, the contractor, offered to texture the walls for me, and with the uneven surfaces, the paint reminds me of wispy clouds. 

 

     Walking into the bathroom makes me smile.  My family is acting strangely, however, and they refuse to use it, preferring to keep it in its pristine state.  Now, I’m all for a clean bathroom, but when they start chastising me for using it the way it was intended, well, that’s where I put the seat down.

 

 

 

6 Responses to “New bathroom!”

  1. lifeofdi Says:

    Looks lovely! Although I’m sad your budding tack jumping Olympic career will be ended. Ah well, better to do it this way than in a flurry of doping accusations.

  2. K. Trainor Says:

    Purtyful! And enjoy ‘your’ bathroom for as long as it lasts. A private bathroom…that’s my dream! Can I move to your house, Kemi?

  3. Wendy Says:

    Cute new bathroom…and way to go for your kids. It’s always so fun to watch them excel in something. I enjoy watching their excitement and feeliong a little motherly pride.

  4. Meredith McIlrath Says:

    It’s so cute!! I love it! I would love to do some fun paint or something to our bathroom or bedroom, but unfortunately there’s only so much you’re allowed to do in a rental. One day…

    Oh, and I would totally love to come over on a b-ball Wednesday!

  5. Kristi Says:

    Seeing it in person, it is pretty nice. I’m glad you finally like it cause there were a few days in there that you were not happy with the way it ended up!!!

    Oh, and that couch is heavenly. Tell all your friends that family comes first and I’ve already staked my claim on that couch, the new bathroom, family room, and office!!! Abbie and I will move in shortly.

  6. 1zoutiger Says:

    I can’t wait to get my bathroom finished. I have to use the downstairs bathroom everyday which only bothers me cuz I already installed my Bathroom Vanity. The sink is quite small and I have to wait for the tile guys to finish. Arrg contractors.


Leave a Reply

