Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Turn back the clock June 4, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kemi @ 11:50 pm

     Late last night, I was stunned to learn that a high school friend of mine shot himself.

 

     My mind has been doing a lot of wandering today because of the news.  I’ve reminisced about high school, past relationships, who I was then, and who I am now.  I’ve thought a lot about how the changes in my life have shaped me, and then I think about Brad’s family, and the sudden changes that have been thrust upon them.

 

     My heart hurts for them.  And for Brad. 

 

     I’m also emotional about the end of the school year.  Having to leave Kendra’s teacher after two years is particularly difficult.  I am astounded to think that Alex will be in fifth grade next year.  I mean, that’s the grade I taught.  He can’t possibly be as big as those kids, can he?  I miss the toddler stage.  I love who they are becoming, but I miss who they were.

 

     And then I’m reminded of how Brad will never see his boys get to fifth grade, and how his beautiful new baby girl won’t ever really know her daddy, and I get a lump in my throat.  I wish things would have turned out differently for him.  For his family. 

 

     Change is never easy.  This change is heartbreaking.

 

3 Responses to “Turn back the clock”

  1. Marci Says:

    What an awful day. I feel bad for the pain he was in, and I feel bad that this was his solution. It’s been an emotional day for sure. His obituary was beautiful, he added so much good to this world – especially three beautiful children. He will definitely be missed.

  2. Wendy Says:

    My heart was so sad to learn he had taken his life. I may never understand what brought him to that point and left him feeling there was no other option, but my prayers are with his family and children especially. I hope as they grow that the lord will comfort them through the lose they will surely fill. His obituary was very sweet.

  3. Jennifer Says:

    Im sorry to hear about this. That is no good in any situation. I hope you are ok in dealing with this. Love you


Leave a Reply

