Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

You can’t take me anywhere. July 6, 2009

Filed under: Kemi — Kemi @ 3:26 pm
Tags: ,

 See full size image

      (Say hello to my leetle friend!)
 
 
 

     I went to the library today to pick up some books I’d put on hold.

 

     When I opened my wallet to retrieve my library card, a giant (and I mean GIANT) earwig crawled out of it.

 

     It wasn’t a cockroach, so at least there was that, but still…  what sort of person (unknowingly) transports icky bugs to public places, only to have them crawl across the checkout counter while dozens of  (two)  library employees stare at it in horror?   (*shudder*)

 

     I was MORTIFIED.

 

     So, I did what I thought would be least embarrassing (although in hindsight, stripping naked and doing the hula might have been the safer choice):  I smiled, brushed it off the counter with my bare hand and stomped on it three times so it was good and mashed into the carpet.

 

     I KNOW, RIGHT?!?!?!

 

     I make my family proud.

 

21 Responses to “You can’t take me anywhere.”

  1. Dar Says:

    I HATE EARWIGS! They creep out just as much as spiders do. Anything that has a name like that just makes my skin crawl. When I was little I used to think they would crawl into your ears, you get the picture. ICK.

    The stomping 3 times was probably what I would have done, plus a little dance. ICK ICK ICK!

  2. SewDucky Says:

    You handled it better then I would have. I’d of screamed like a girl, threw the wallet one way, the purse the other and poked it all with a stick (or book or something) and had the WHOLE place looking at me.

    Sorry I’m laughing tho.

  3. Rachel Says:

    I am SO sorry…but that is HILARIOUS! 🙂

  4. Wendy Says:

    How come you didn’t pick him up, look him in the face and say “Herman, I told you to stay in there?”

  5. lifeofdi Says:

    Awesome answer Wendy!

    I have earwig issues too and for some reason they’ve decided it’s a good time to invade my house… Not a happy bunny.

  6. Wow. I’m speechless…well not speechless, I’m reading this to Kelli. She is grossed out.

  7. Tami Says:

    So funny! Your better than me, I would have let the earwig keep crawling across the counter and simply said, “sorry” then left as fast as I could have.

  8. Dar Says:

    I like Wendy’s response – ROF.

  9. kweenmama Says:

    I’ve been known to do the “bug dance” whenever a creepy crawly gets too close to me. My kids think it is hilariously embarrassing. I think I wouldn’t be going back to THAT library again…ya know, in case they remember?

  10. Dar Says:

    I think I would rather have an earwig crawl out of my wallet than one of the other creepy crawlies like a ginormous spider or some other creature. I think earwigs are one step up from a cockroach. *shudder*

  11. gr8tful Says:

    YUCK!!! I would have screamed loudly too!

  12. Jeri Says:

    I laughed so loud and long (with tears streaming) that my DH finally came out of the back room to see what all the hilarity was about. (WHAT is so FUNNY?!) We could be sisters, you and I.

    Thanks from both of us for the good laugh, and thanks, also, for not letting the bug be one of those pictures that quadruples in size when you doubleclick on it. (I thought I was curious but would have screamed and hurt my laptop had it actually worked!)

    As God is my witness, I hope never to meet an earwig face to face but, if so, please let me be wearing Doc Martens!

  13. high hopes Says:

    Kemi – do you think we could send your ‘leetle’ friend for a vacation anytime soon, it is toooooo creeeeepy.

  14. K. Trainor Says:

    Oh heebie jeebies heebie jeebies heebie jeebies!
    Earwigs creep me out, too. But you kept your head and slew the evil beast! You go, girl!

  15. gr8brainfarts Says:

    I love it! I don’t know that doing a naked hula would actually be less embarrassing. 🙂

  16. Jessica Says:

    Kemi- you won a Giveaway on my blog! Email me and I’ll let you know more details!

    Jessica
    Utah Deal Diva

  17. Goldie Says:

    hahahahahA! and EEEEK! eww, bug germs.

    speaking of creepy crawlies- I thought of you today. we have mice again & the exterminator reccommended one of those UV flashlights to check for “activity” (ick ick ick). What detective kit did you get for your kids? I recall it had one- I thought of that bathroom story you told & chuckled.

  18. Goldie Says:

    actually, can you please email it to me when ya get a chance? thx k bai

  19. Sharene Says:

    That is such a funny story! Thanks for your advice. I have another question. What if Brielle won’t really eat bread, so sandwiches are mostly out? What do I feed her? You always have so many good ideas. She loves Mac and Cheese and anything with noodles, but that does not give her a lot of calories or nutrients. Help!!

  20. Lesley Says:

    OH MY GOSH!! I almost wet my pants. that is so funny

  21. […] this week, and then giggled like a 12-year-old boy when I explained “read and feed”.  They love me at the library, I tell […]


Leave a Reply

