Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

All (good?) things must come to an end, eventually. August 16, 2009

Filed under: Church,Enrichment,Kemi,Mormon, LDS,Relief Society — Kemi @ 9:26 pm

     I was released from my calling in the Relief Society Presidency this morning.

 

     After nearly four years of (barely-attended) Enrichment activities, welfare meetings, Sunday lessons, planning sessions and a whole (WHOLE!) lot of murmuring– Bad Kemi, I know–, I am done.

 

     Yesterday, before I knew it was coming, I thought I’d be elated.  It turns out I loved it more than I realized, because today I can’t seem to stop crying.  I choked up when I got off the phone with the Executive Secretary this morning.  I sniffled through our RS lesson on (how fitting!) the organization and history of the Relief Society.  I cried when we gathered up the tablecloths and decorations for the last time.  I sobbed when my name was read over the pulpit, and the tears just kept coming during Sacrament Meeting, at least until Anthony wet his pants on the padded bench and I had to take him out to the van for a complete change of clothes.  (It wouldn’t be Sunday without my family providing comic relief for the ward.  Also, do you know how hard it is to quietly blot urine out of upholstery when you’re sitting on the FRONT ROW and your kids keep asking, Did Anthony have an accident?  Eeeew!  No one sit there!  Anthony peed his pants!)  The new presidency is going to be wonderful, but a little (big) part of me wishes I could start the whole calling over again.  (I KNOW!  I am clearly MENTAL.)

 

     In the five years and three months we’ve lived in this ward, I’ve gone a total of two weeks without a calling.  I feel like running a side bet to see 1) Which new calling I’ll get, and 2) How long it will be before it’s issued.  (Feel free to leave your guesses in the comment section, but please understand that if you guess Gospel Doctrine teacher, we will no longer be friends.)   😀

 

9 Responses to “All (good?) things must come to an end, eventually.”

  1. Marci Says:

    If your ward is anything like ours, you’ll be in the Primary Presidency before week’s end.

    By the way, your peeing-the-pants story makes me feel better about the time two of my kids puked in the middle of Sacrament Meeting. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Kemi Says:

      Glad to help, Marci. Glad to help. 😀

      They called a new Primary Presidency two months ago. If I go into Primary, it won’t be to the presidency.

      • kspin Says:

        I’m going to guess nursery leader only because it’s on my brain right now. We have 8 nurseries in our ward right now with more to come. CRAZINESS! 🙂

  2. Kemi Says:

    EIGHT nurseries, Karolee? Where do they put everyone?

    Your ward’s youth program is going to be amazing in about ten years, though. I grew up in a ward with a huge amount of kids. At one point I remember helping to plan a youth conference for 90. (That didn’t include adults.)

  3. lifeofdi Says:

    zomg. I love the kids’ pee commentary.

    I will guess you’ll get MiaMaid teacher.

  4. kweenmama Says:

    I’m guessing cubscouts. That’s where I went after being released from a Relief Society Presidency.

    I know what you mean about feeling sad after being released. After you put so much effort into something for so long, it’s hard to move on. I’m sure you will do great wherever you are called.

  5. Wendy Says:

    It’s funny the love, hate relationship we develop with our callings. I must say it is always a little nerve racking waiting for the call to see what new adventure your church service will be taking you on. Good Luck with that. Funny how you perk up and listen to where the open spots are a little more when you are in limbo.

  6. Lesley Says:

    I feel much like you do.. WEIRD!! I give you a couple of weeks, and what kind of friend would I be if i wished gospel docrine on you…

  7. Anita Says:

    What’s wrong with Gospel doctrine??? I know, call me crazy, but that’s what I do and I LOVE IT!


Leave a Reply

