Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Baby, it’s COLD outside! December 30, 2009

Filed under: kids,The Looney Bin,weather — Kemi @ 11:43 pm
Tags:

     It has snowed off and on here for the past two days.  (Mostly on.)  We don’t have nearly the snow as our friends to the east, but we have snow, nontheless. 

 

     Because they are kids, or because they’re crazy, or maybe some of both, my offspring actually wanted to go outside and romp in the snow.  In fact, they’ve been begging  me to allow them to go out since the first snowfall.  (At what age does one lose the desire to roll around in it and freeze to death– on purpose?  Ten?  Twelve?  …  Oh, that was just me?)

 

     Now, we’ve already established that I’m NOT a huge fan of playing in the snow, and I’m even less of a fan of getting kids bundled into winter gear, only to have them come back inside five minutes later because It’s cold!   or   I have to potty now!   or   I am wearing half the snow on the lawn, and I’m COOOOOLD!  But I really want to be outside with my siblings, so I’ll stand at the window and cry because I can’t decide which is worse:  being cold outside or warm and toasty inside with my booooring mom.  However, today I decided to suck it up and let them go outside, which gave me nearly an hour of peace and quiet.  (The neighbors?  Not so much.  *snicker*)  They had a blast playing in the snow, and were definitely not ready to come in when I called them.  Even though their cheeks resembled flash-frozen tomatoes, and Kendra’s hair was dripping wet and starting to freeze.  Even though they had so much snow packed on them, you could barely tell the color of their coats.  Even though I made them strip down on the rug, one at a time, so I could gather up the snow and throw it back outside.

 

     So I am left with one question:  Is it worth the extra load(s) of wet snow laundry, plus the hassle of dressing them, plus the hassle of UNdressing them, just for a protest-free bedtime and four little bodies sleeping soundly?

 

     Let me get back to you on that.  We’re going to test the theory again tomorrow.  😀

 

 

7 Responses to “Baby, it’s COLD outside!”

  1. Mindy Says:

    Can I cut, copy, paste this to my blog? 🙂
    related to every word.

  2. At least you don’t need to be outside with them…

  3. kweenmama Says:

    I have always enjoyed having the house be toasty warm, and hot water ready for making hot chocolate, when they come in. They seem to revel in mom making everything warm. Sigh. Teens don’t do that stuff much anymore.

  4. Sharane Says:

    Kemi! I’m Trying to get back on the Blogging Bandwagon. I Have Missed reading your posts! Snow play is Totally Worth it, for the kids! It IS a Huge Hassle as a Mom! 😦 I usually only take my kids out when I have to go out to shovel, so we really don’t Go Out in the Snow very often. I am Terrible at Keeping Up with Shoveling!
    I Love the photos! CUTE and WET!! 🙂

  5. Darlene Says:

    I actually like playing in the snow (when we get – which isn’t that often). We usually get all bundled up a then have a huge snowball fight. I used to live where we would get 10-12 ft of it on the winter, now we don’t get any and I actually miss it. Who would have thought anybody would miss snow.

  6. Haha! Well Kemi, #3 was definitely your son. But no worries, he wasn’t #2. 🙂

    My other favorite moment from Anthony was when he drew a picture of the two of us in his “I am a child of God” frame, and informed me that it was “ours” to share, and that he would keep it at his house for a week, then bring it to me to keep at my house for a week. TOO FUNNY!!!!

  7. K. Trainor Says:

    Kemi, sorry to contact you here – I don’t have your email. I discontinued the UAO blog and, unfortunately, I wasn’t thinking and let the domain name go. The site that scooped it up is NOT kid friendly, so you may want to remove links. I’m sorry for the trouble, I screwed up. 😦

    Kelly


Leave a Reply

