Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

How we spent (some of) our summer vacation July 27, 2010

Filed under: Alex,Anthony,Hannah,Kendra,movies — Kemi @ 8:28 am

     My brother Kevin is working on his computer animation degree at the University of Utah, and he had to make a live-action film for one of his classes this semester.  (“Make” = write, cast, film, edit, compose score, produce, etc.)  His professor encouraged them to avoid filming with animals and children (or children who are animals, in this case), but Kevin laughed at the wisdom and went ahead and used both (and then cursed himself– and his actors– later).

 

[My brother is extremely patient, but after a long, hot day of filming, after a long, hot week  of filming, I heard his voice carry across the field.  “What is WRONG with you?”  he asked Anthony.  After the scene was painstakingly blocked, lit and staged, and just *thisclose* to the camera going on, Anthony punched one of his sisters in the stomach, just because.]

 

     So, here is the end result.  I love it.  My kids love it.  Kevin’s professor loved it.  I find myself humming the song, and I even heard it in my dreams last night.  (I think I may have spent too many days in the hot sun, breaking up fights and wrangling whiny diva children child.)

 

 

7 Responses to “How we spent (some of) our summer vacation”

  1. What a great video! Kelli told me a little about this last week. How fun! I found myself laughing out loud several times. Thanks for sharing!

  2. lifeofdi Says:

    This is adorable. Loved the last line.

    Also I suspect this is the question you’ve asked yourself for most of Anthony’s life. lol. “What is WRONG with you?”

  3. kweenmama Says:

    Awesome video!

    “I don’t even like girls.” Let’s hope he feels that for for a long time! 😉

  4. Mindy Says:

    That was absolutely hilarious. I hope there’s a blooper reel on the DVD release. Your kids are adorable and the dumbest dog ever is pretty cute as well.
    Glad you’re having such a fun summer.

  5. kspin Says:

    Too cute! Your brother does great work, and your kids were adorable!

  6. Cindy Says:

    That was so fun! Your brother did a good job, but the kids made the show! I loved the work out scenes 🙂 So clever

  7. Jeri Says:

    Cutest kids, ever! Poor Bristol. Good thing doggies can’t read their credits, lol. GREAT JOB BY ALL!!


Leave a Reply

