Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

In Protest of Snow (Or: Knock on my door at your own risk!) March 8, 2011

Filed under: The Looney Bin,weather — Kemi @ 11:39 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Yesterday was lovely.  Slightly overcast, with just a drizzle of rain off and on, that turned into a steady shower by mid-afternoon.
My girls even came home from school and begged to play in the rain, because, according to them, “It hasn’t rained in, like, a YEAR!”  (I don’t know where they’ve been the past few months, when it’s rained at least once a week, but okay…)

 

 

image

 

 

Towards the end of their rainy frolicking, about the same time their bare toes turned a chilly pink color, the rain turned slushy and I made them come in.  (After which, Hannah immediately started crying because she was just so, so cold.  After which, I, always the sympathetic, caring mother, said something along the lines of, “Well, duh.  I told you it was going to be cold.  It’s still WINTER, after all.”)  And then I made hot chocolate with marshmallows, and all was forgiven.

 

About the time they finished warming up, we looked out the window to see that an inch of snow had fallen, and was stubbornly sticking to the grass.  By dinner time, we had another inch, and when the kids went to bed, it was up to four, and still falling.  I told Kenny that I hoped (against all reason, I know) that school would be canceled, because I didn’t want to drive them to school in the snow.  He helpfully pointed out that we live less than two blocks away, and they’d be able to manage walking that far in their snow boots with no problems.  (Which is technically true, but clearly he’s forgotten what it’s like to be a kid with no adult supervision and eight inches of powdery new snow.)

 

When I woke up at 5:30 AM with Abbie, I saw at least 7 inches on the ground, and I crossed my fingers, hoping for the snow day I knew would never be called.  I was tempted to make it a “family” snow day anyway, but then the guilt set in and I knew I’ll be sending my kids to school.  Driving them, probably, which led right back to the desire for a snow day.  And then the guilt.  (There are days it really stinks to have been a teacher.  And to have parents who were teachers.  Stupid, ingrained rules about missing school…)

 

It took me ten minutes to brush eight inches of snow off the van windows, and standing out there in my maternity nightshirt (I pulled a pair of leggings on under it, and a hoodie over it, because while I may be walking on a very thin line, I haven’t quite crossed into “white trash” territory, although some neighbors might disagree.), I decided that I was still going to have my own snow day, if for nothing but my sanity.

 

 

I am taking the entire day off.

 

 

If you drop by my house, let me apologize in advance.  (Although, I’m not nearly as sorry or embarrassed as I know I should be.  Unless you’re my neighbor, in which case, I can only say, “Add it to the list.”  And also, “What kind of cookies shall I make you this time?)

 

 

I refuse to change out of my pajamas, because  these maternity leggings are really quite comfortable, albeit horribly unflattering.  I have not showered, nor do I plan to.  I have given Anthony a pass on chores, and plan to look the other way at the number of hours he’ll spend on the Wii.  Since it’s Taco Tuesday!, Kenny has agreed to pick up dinner from Del Taco.  The laundry will sit in the baskets for one more day, and I will watch the snow fall while the sun shines (seriously, Mother Nature?  What is UP with you lately?) and read my book.  Probably, I’ll nap a little, too, and by the time tomorrow comes, I’ll be better prepared to face the snow.

 

 

And if I’m not?

 

 

I might just take another snow day.  😀

 

2 Responses to “In Protest of Snow (Or: Knock on my door at your own risk!)”

  1. kweenmama Says:

    I had to go out in the snow and cross kids walking to school–all FIVE of them (one of which was my son). All the other parents drove their kids to school this morning. AND one of my speed limit sign locks was frozen shut, so I couldn’t turn on the sign. Yup, I’m ready for a snow day too. Spring…please get here!

  2. Darlene Says:

    Kemi it sounds like a wonderful day! Heck with you being a teacher you could help the kids catch up the missed day. I hope you got your nap too.


Leave a Reply

