Kemi, like “chemistry”

Random Musings of the Misunderstood

Quick! Someone take away my red pen! December 7, 2011

Filed under: Kemi — Kemi @ 1:14 pm
Tags:

I have always had an editor’s eye that I can’t seem to turn off.  Maybe it’s the writer in me, or it’s something I picked up in my education classes, but I am constantly correcting things in my mind.  EVERYTHING I see gets edited.

 

(Non-judgmentally, of course.)   😉

 

It’s both a blessing and a curse.  Right now, I have three drafts waiting to be finished.  There are close to 100,000 words between them that I haven’t published yet, for fear that they are too wordy.  (You think?)  Do you really want to read a 50,000-word birth story?  Probably not, and so I will most likely delete it and start fresh.  Then, I’m sure I’ll find fault with the next version, and it will be another six months before anything gets published.

 

Verbosity and perfectionism, why doth thou afflict me so?  (And how might I be compensated for your ever-present torment?)

 

2 Responses to “Quick! Someone take away my red pen!”

  1. Meredith Says:

    I have the opposite problem! I”ll right something, notice it’s wrong, and then just not care enough to fix it You need to rub off on me.

    I got your email about pinterest. I still need to check it out. I’m scared of the addiction that may follow!

    p.s. I purposely left some errors for you in my comment so you can non-judgmentally edit them 🙂

  2. Tami Says:

    I’m the same way! I rewrote my baby’s birth story many times too. And I would read a 50,000 word birth story. You are a very talented writer. So, go ahead and post it for me and for Sam to read later in life. 🙂


Leave a Reply

